Archive | April, 2013

Rita Ora debuts music video for ‘Facemelt’

30 Apr

Rita Ora has debuted the music video for “Facemelt.”

The track is included on the British singer/songwriter’s debut album, “ORA,” out now via Sony Music Entertainment / Roc Nation / Columbia Records.

“Facemelt” was co-written by James Fauntleroy, whose recent credits include “Suit & Tie” by Justin Timberlake featuring Jay-Z [RCA Records] and “Get it Over With” by Rihanna [SRP / Island Def Jam Recordings].

Production duties were handled by David “Switch” Taylor, who is also responsible for “Slower” by Brandy [RCA Records], “Sugar” by Kerli [Island Def Jam Recordings] and “Pirate in the Water” by Santigold [Atlantic Records].

[Watch] Rita Ora – Facemelt

Mika, Ariana Grande premiere music video for ‘Popular Song’

30 Apr

Mika has premiered the music video for his new single online.

“Popular Song” – which features Aria Grande – marks the fifth promotional single from the British singer/songwriter’s latest album, “The Origin of Love,” out now via Universal Music Group / Island Records.

The track was co-written Mathieu “Billboard” Jomphe and Stephen Schwartz along with Priscilla Renea Hamilton, whose credits include “Don’t Wake Me Up” by Chris Brown [RCA Records], “Gang Bang” by Madonna [Interscope Records] and “Don’t Mind” by Mary J. Blige [Geffen Records].

Production duties were handled by Mika along with frequent collaborator Greg Wells, who is also responsible for singles “Waking Up in Vegas” by Katy Perry [Capitol Records], “Beautiful Soul” by Jesse McCartney [Hollywood Records] and “I Do Not Hook Up” by Kelly Clarkson [RCA Records].

Toni Estes records new album with Bryan Michael Cox

30 Apr

Toni Estes

Toni Estes has started the process of recording her upcoming as-yet-untitled sophomore album, which serves as the follow-up to 2000’s “Two*Eleven.”

Production on the new collection is headed by Bryan Michael Cox, who previously teamed up with Estes on the “Two*Eleven” tracks “Told Me,” “Let Me Know,” “She Already” and “She Can’t.”

He also contributed to the next projects by Usher [Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records], Mariah Carey [Universal Music Group / Island Def Jam Recordings] and Tamar Braxton [Sony Music Entertainment / Epic Records].

As a songwriter, Estes has collaborated with Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins and LaShawn “Big Shiz” Daniels on the tracks “It’s Not Right But It’s Okay,” “If I Told You That” and “Get It Back” – taken from Whitney Houston’s 2008’s release “My Love is Your Love” [Sony Music Entertainment / Arista Records].

Little Boots releases music video for new single ‘Broken Record’

30 Apr

Little Boots has released the music video for her new single online.

“Broken Record” – produced by Tim Goldsworthy – marks the fourth promotional single from the singer/songwriter’s upcoming sophomore album, “Nocturnes,” which will be released in the United Kingdom on May 6 via On Repeat Records.

The track was written by Victoria “Little Boots” Hesketh along with Rick Nowels, whose credits include “Young and Beautiful” by Lana Del Rey [Interscope Records], “No Freedom” by Dido [RCA Records] and “End of the World” by Nelly Furtado [Mosley Music Group / Interscope Records].

“Nocturnes” serves as the follow-up to 2009’s “Hands.” That release peaked at number five on the UK Albums Chart. It also delivered three hit singles in the shape of “New in Town,” “Earthquake” and “Remedy.”

LeToya Luckett reunites with Durrell “Tank” Babbs for new album

30 Apr

LeToya Luckett has recently snagged the songwriting and production services of R&B crooner Tank for her upcoming as-yet-untitled third album.

The hitmaker – real name Durrell Babbs – has previously teamed up with Luckett on “Lady Love” tracks “Regret (featuring Ludacris),” “Good to Me” and “Over.”

Other songwriting credits by Tank include “Thought You Should Know” by Keyshia Cole [Geffen Records], “Ghetto” by Kelly Rowland featuring Snoop Dogg [Columbia Records] and “This is Me” by Fantasia Barrino [J Records].

Meanwhile, the new collection by “Torn” singer is expected to boast further alliances with Nikeshia Briscoe, Eric Bellinger, Joseph “Lonny” Bereal, Sean “Elijah Blake” Fenton, Harmony “H-Money” Samuels, Eric Hudson, Marcos “Kosine” Palacios, and Ernest “Tuo” Clark.

Chris Brown schedules release date for new album ‘X’

30 Apr

Chris Brown has scheduled the release date for his upcoming sixth album.

The R&B singer/songwriter will release “X” in the United States on July 16 via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

Lead single “Fine China” was helmed by Amber “Sevyn” Streeter (Jordin Sparks, Fantasia Barrino), Eric Bellinger (Christina Milian, Usher Raymond) and Leon “RoccStar” Youngblood (Rita Ora, Keri Hilson).

Other tracks slotted for inclusion on “X” – which serves as the follow-up to 2012’S “Fortune” – are “Autumn Leaves,” “Lady in Glass Dress” and “Add Me In.”

For the new collection, Brown has also collaborated with Timothy “Timbaland” Mosley, Nathaniel “Danja” Hills, Jean Baptiste Kouame, Ernest “Tuo” Clark, Marcos “Kosine” Palacios, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, and Darhyl “DJ” Camper.

Dido premieres music video for new single ‘End of Night’

29 Apr

Dido - Girl Who Got Away

Dido has premiered the music video for her new single online.

“End of Night” is taken from the British singer/songwriter’s fourth studio album, “Girl Who Got Away,” out now via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The track was co-written and produced by Greg Kurstin, who is also responsible for singles “True Love” by Pink [Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records] and “I Was a Fool” by Tegan and Sara [Warner Bros. Records].

“Girl Who Got Away” – which serves as the follow-up to 2008’s “Safe Trip Home” – yields further productions and songwriting collaborations with Lester Mendez (Shakira, Enrique Iglesias), Rick Nowels (Shaznay Lewis, Craig David) and Jeff Bhasker (Beyonce Knowles, Lana Del Rey).