Archive | May, 2013

Tamar Braxton premieres music video for ‘The One’

31 May

Tamar - The One

Tamar Braxton has released the music video for her new single online.

“The One” – produced by Yung Berg – marks the second promotional single from the singer/songwriter’s upcoming sophomore album, “Love and War,” which is due later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / Epic Records.

The track was co-written by LaShawn “Big Shiz” Daniels, whose credits include “If You Had My Love” by Jennifer Lopez [Epic Records], “Say My Name” by Destiny’s Child [Columbia Records] and “Holler” by Spice Girls [Virgin Records].

Meanwhile, the video was directed by Gil Green, who is also responsible for “I’m All Yours” by Jay Sean [Universal Music Group / Republic Records] and “Bitch Bad” by Lupe Fiasco [Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records].

Snoop Lion, Miley Cyrus release music video for ‘Ashtrays and Heartbreaks’

31 May


Snoop Lion has premiered the music video for his new single online.

“Ashtrays and Heartbreaks” – which features Miley Cyrus – is taken from the hip hop artist’s latest album, “Reincarnated,” out now via Sony Music Entertainment / Mad Decent / Vice / RCA Records.

The track was co-written by Angela Hunte, whose also teamed up with Snoop Lion on “Reincarnated” tracks “Here Comes the King,” “So Long,” “Get Away,” “No Guns Allowed (featuring Drake & Cori B),” “Smoke the Weed (featuring Collie Buddz)” and “Torn Apart (featuring Rita Ora).”

Production duties were handled by Major Lazer and Dre Skull along with Ariel Rechtshaid, whose credits include “Climax” by Usher [RCA Records], “Thought of You” by Justin Bieber [Island Def Jam Recordings] and “You’re the One” by Charli XCX [Warner Music Group / Asylum Records].

Katy B debuts music video for new single ‘What Love is Made Of’

30 May

Katy B

Katy B has premiered the video for her new single online.

“What Love is Made Of” marks the lead single from the British singer/songwriter’s upcoming sophomore album, which serves as the follow-up to 2010’s “On a Mission” [Sony Music Entertainment / Columbia Records].

The video was directed by Emil Nava, who previously teamed up with other artists including Rita Ora [Roc Nation / Columbia Records], Jessie J [Universal Music Group / Republic Records], Leona Lewis [Simco Limited / Syco Music] and Beyonce Knowles [Parkwood Entertainment / Columbia Records].

As previously reported, the new collection by Katy B – real name Kathleen Anne Brien – will boast productions and songwriting contributions from Mark Ronson (Estelle Swaray, Bruno Mars), Fraser T. Smith (Ellie Goulding, Rebecca Ferguson) and Guy Chambers (Robbie Williams, Kylie Minogue).

K. Michelle releases official lyric video for new single ‘V.S.O.P’

30 May

K Michelle - VSOP

K. Michelle has unveiled the official lyric video for her new single online.

“V.S.O.P” is taken from the singer/songwriter’s upcoming debut album, “Rebellious Soul,” which will be released in the United States on July 30 via Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records.

The track was produced by Warren “Oak” Felder and Andrew “Pop” Wansel, who are also responsible for “Numb” by Rihanna featuring Eminem [Island Def Jam Recordings], “A Couple of Forevers” by Nicki Minaj [Republic Records] and “Not Tonight” by Elle Varner [MBK Entertainment / RCA Records].

“Rebellious Soul” is confirmed to boast further productions from Eric Hudson (Brandy Norwood, Keyshia Cole), Matthew “Jack Splash” Kahane (Alicia Keys, Jazmine Sullivan), Richard “Rico Love” Butler (Keri Hilson, Sean Paul) and Charles “Chuck Harmony” Harmon (Toni Braxton, Faith Evans).

Songwriters include Crystal Nicole (Rihanna, Mariah Carey), Durrell “Tank” Babbs (Keyshia Cole, LeToya Luckett), Jessyca Wilson (Fantasia Barrino, Vivian Green) and Claude Kelly (Sky Ferreira, Britney Spears).

Ella Henderson recruits Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds for debut album

30 May

Ella Henderson

British songstress Ella Henderson has recruited the songwriting and production services of Babyface for her upcoming as-yet-untitled debut album, out later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / Simco Limited / Syco Music.

The legendary hitmaker – real name Babyface – is known for collaborating with artists such as Mariah Carey [Island Def Jam Recordings], Nicole Scherzinger [Interscope Records], Anthony Hamilton [RCA Records], Beyonce Knowles [Columbia Records] and Alicia Keys [RCA Records].

His credits include “Thinking about My Ex” by Janet Jackson [EMI Music Group / Virgin Records], “I Wanna Be Your Baby” by Toni Braxton [Universal Music Group / Blackground Records] and “Catching Feelings” by Justin Bieber [Universal Music Group / Island Def Jam Recordings].

Meanwhile, the debut collection by Henderson will boast further songwriting contributions from Wayne Hector (Emma Bunton, Lee Ryan), Emeli Sande (Alesha Dixon, Fantasia Barrino), Iain “Sparx” James (Craig David, Olly Murs) and Autumn Rowe (Leona Lewis, Dionne Bromfield).

Producers include Salaam Remi (Nelly Furtado, Amy Winehouse), Richard “Biff” Stannard (Gabrielle, Kylie Minogue), Francis “Eg” White (Tulisa Contostavlos, Rebecca Ferguson) and TMS: Thomas “Froe” Barnes, Ben Kohn & Peter “Merf” Kelleher (Professor Green, Roxanne Tatai).

Charli XCX unveils music video for new single ‘Take My Hand’

30 May


Charli XCX has unveiled the music video for her new single online.

“Take My Hand” marks the sixth promotional single from the British singer/songwriter’s debut album, “True Romance,” now available via Warner Music Group / Asylum Records / Atlantic Records.

The track was written by XCX – real name Charlotte Aitchison – along with Justin Raisen and Ariel Rechtshaid, whose credits include “Thought of You” by Justin Bieber [Island Def Jam Recordings], “Climax” by Usher [RCA Records] and “Push and Shove” by No Doubt [Interscope Records].

Skylar Grey drafts Jonathan “J.R.” Rotem for new single ‘Wear Me Out’

30 May

Skylar Don't Look Down

Skylar Grey has announced the details of her new single.

The singer/songwriter – real name Holly Brook Hafermann – will release “Wear Me Out” as the next promotional single from her upcoming album, “Don’t Look Down,” which is due in the United States on July 9 via Universal Music Group / KIDinaKORNER / Interscope Records.

The track was written by Grey along with Jonathan “J.R.” Rotem, whose recent credits include “Wipe Your Eyes” by Maroon 5 [A&M / Octone Records], “Marilyn Monroe” by Nicki Minaj [Cash Money / Republic Records] and “Invisible” by Big Time Rush [Sony Music Entertainment / Columbia Records].

He also collaborated with other artists such as Britney Spears [RCA Records], Paris Hilton [Republic Records], Sean Kingston [Epic Records], Jason Derulo [Warner Bros. Records], Cover Drive [Polydor Records], Leona Lewis [Syco Music], Cheryl Cole [Polydor Records] and Rihanna [Island Def Jam Recordings].