Archive | February, 2015

Kandace Springs hints at new collaboration with Rodney Jerkins

26 Feb


Kandace Springs has hinted at a new collaboration with Rodney Jerkins.

“Bout to head into the studio with @RodneyJerkins” the singer, songwriter and pianist tweeted on Wednesday (February 25, 2015).

Jerkins recently served as executive producer for Mary J. Blige’s latest album “The London Session,” which is now available for download via iTunes in partnership with Universal Music Group imprint Capitol Records.

His extensive resume also includes works for Mariah Carey [Epic Records], Toni Braxton [Motown Records], Sia [RCA Records], Rihanna [SRP Records], Ariana Grande [Republic Records] and Tori Kelly [Capitol Records].

Meanwhile, Springs is expected to release her debut album later this year via SRP Records in partnership with Blue Note Records and Capitol Records.

The still-untitled project will be prominently helmed New York-based songwriting and production duo Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken.

Other songwriters and producers backing Springs on the still-untitled project are Brandon “B.A.M.” Hodge, Jack Splash, Stacy Barthe, Andre Harris, James “Malay” Ho, Dan Wilson, Andrea Martin and James Poyser.

Watch the music video for “West Coast” below.

Clare Maguire premieres “Don’t Mess Me Around” music video

26 Feb


Clare Maguire has premiered the music video for her new single online.

The British singer/songwriter posted the visual clip for “Don’t Mess Me Around” to her Vevo channel on Wednesday (February 25, 2015).

“Don’t Mess Me Around” was written by Maguire along with Samuel Dixon, who is also responsible for Sia’s “Salted Wounds” [Republic Records] and Christina Aguilera’s “You Lost Me” [RCA Records].

Video treatment was handled by James Willis, whose other credits include Moby’s “After” [Little Idiot / Mute Records] and Professor Green’s “Kids That Love to Dance” f/ Emeli Sande [Virgin EMI Records].

Maguire’s current mini-album of the same name – featuring additional songs “Boomerang,” “Sherlock” and “Dream Big” – is now available for download via iTunes (UK) in partnership with Virgin EMI Records.

Watch the music video for “Don’t Mess Me Around” below.

Keyshia Cole reunites with Ron Fair for new album

26 Feb

Keyshia Cole - Ron Fair

Keyshia Cole has initiated the process of recording her next album.

The keenly-awaited project will be executive-produced by veteran music mogul Ron Fair, who previously teamed with Cole on her first four albums – “The Way It Is,” “Just Like You,” “A Different Me” and “Calling All Hearts.”

Among the other artists Fair has collaborated with throughout his career are Mary J. Blige [Capitol Records], Fergie [Interscope Records], Christina Aguilera [RCA Records] and Lady Gaga [Streamline Records].

Meanwhile, the seventh studio collection by Cole is expected to be released later this year. It serves as the follow-up to 2014’s “Point of No Return,” which delivered singles including “Believer,” “Rick James” and “She.”

Watch the music video for “Heaven Sent” below.

Jason Derulo hits the studio with Taylor Parks for new album

26 Feb

Jason Derulo - Taylor Parks

Singer/songwriter Jason Derulo has added Taylor Parks to the list of contributors for his next album under Sony Music Entertainment imprint RCA Records.

Parks is responsible for co-writing Jennifer Lopez’s “So Good” [Capitol Records], Fifth Harmony’s “Bo$$” [Epic Records], Keyshia Cole’s “Rick James” [Interscope Records] and Ariana Grande’s “My Everything” [Republic Records].

Her resume also includes works with Tinashe [RCA Records], Madison Beer [Island Records], Tori Kelly [Capitol Records], Elle Varner [MBK Entertainment] and Zendaya [Hollywood Records].

Meanwhile, Derulo is confirmed to release his upcoming studio collection and follow-up to 2013’s “Tattoos” later this year.

The still-untitled project boasts further productions and songwriting alliances with Sean Douglas, Jason Evigan, Ross Golan, Meghan Trainor, Warren Felder, Talay Riley, Steve Mostyn, DJ Mustard and Jean Baptiste Kouame.

Watch the music video for “Wiggle” below.

Rihanna releases new single “Towards the Sun”

25 Feb


Rihanna has released a new song online.

“Towards the Sun” is now available for download via iTunes in partnership with Roc Nation and Westbury Road Entertainment.

The track appears on the original motion picture soundtrack, “Home,” which will hit stores and digital outlets on March 17.

Production duties on “Towards the Sun” were handled by Tiago Carvalho (James Arthur, Elijah Blake) and Gary Go (Ronan Keating, Katharine McPhee).

“Home” features further guest appearances from Charli XCX (“Red Balloon”), Kiesza (“Cannonball”), Jennifer Lopez (“Feel the Light”), Clarence Coffee Jr. (“Run to Me”) and James Clark (“Peaceful Holiday”).

On the songwriting and production front, the project spawns contributions from Stargate (Brandy, Christina Milian), Mozella (Tinashe, Miley Cyrus), Emile Haynie (Lykke Li, Bruno Mars) and Ester Dean (Usher, Nicki Minaj).

Listen to “Towards the Sun” below.

Kandace Springs enlists James “Malay” Ho for debut album

25 Feb

Kandace Springs02

Kandace Springs has enlisted James “Malay” Ho for her first studio collection.

“Had an incredible 3 days in the studio with #Malay” the singer, songwriter and pianist posted to her Instagram page on Tuesday (February 24, 2015).

Malay recently produced and co-wrote “Angels & Airwaves,” “April’s Fool” and “Battle Cry” for Angel Haze. These tracks appear on the rapper’s debut album, “Dirty Gold,” out now via Island Records (UK) and Republic Records (US).

His resume also includes works Goapele (“Undertow”), Alicia Keys (“One Thing”), Frank Ocean (“Lost”), John Legend (“You & I”), Fantasia Barrino (“Teach Me”), Jamie Foxx (“15 Minutes”) and Cris Cab (“Paradise on Earth”).

Meanwhile, Springs’ debut album will be released later this year via SRP Records in partnership with Blue Note Records and Capitol Records. The still-untitled project is executive produced by Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken.

Other album contributors include Jack Splash (Solange, Pixie Lott), Andrea Martin (Leona Lewis, Jordin Sparks), Dan Wilson (Adele, Taylor Swift), Andre Harris (Usher, Mariah Carey) and Stacy Barthe (Rihanna, Jhene Aiko).

Watch the music video for “Love Got in the Way” below.

Tinashe hits the studio with Rock City, Dr. Luke, Cirkut

25 Feb

Tinashe - Rock City - Dr. Luke - Cirkut

Tinashe has teamed with Rock City, Dr. Luke and Cirkut on new material.

It is yet to be known whether the session was intended for planned re-release of Tinashe’s debut album “Aquarius” or her upcoming sophomore studio collection.

Rock City – consisting of siblings Theron and Timothy Thomas – are responsible for co-writing Ciara’s “I Bet” [Epic Records], Keyshia Cole’s “New Nu” [Interscope Records] and Rihanna’s “Pour it Up” [Def Jam Recordings].

Meanwhile, Dr. Luke and Cirkut are known for producing GRL’s “Ugly Heart” [Kemosabe / RCA Records], Nicki Minaj’s “Pills N Potions” [Cash Money / Republic Records] and Katy Perry’s “Roar” [Capitol Records].

Tinashe recently announced “All Hands on Deck” – featuring Iggy Azalea – as the next promotional single from her debut album “Aquarius.” The track was co-written by Bebe Rexha and produced by Stargate and Cashmere Cat.

Her next project is said to feature further collaborations with producers and songwriters including Jack Antonoff, Taylor Parks, Jacob Kasher Hindlin, Chloe Angelides and Joshua “Ammo” Coleman.

Listen to “All Hands on Deck” below.