Archive | February, 2016

Charli XCX releases new mini-collection “Vroom Vroom”

28 Feb


Charli XCX has released her new EP online.

“Vroom Vroom” – featuring four songs including “Paradise,” “Trophy” and “Secret (Shh)” – is now available for download via iTunes in partnership with Vroom Vroom Recordings and Atlantic Records.

The mini-collection was entirely produced by London-based electronic music producer SOPHIE, whose credits also include Madonna’s “Bitch I’m Madonna” [Interscope] and Namie Amuro’s “B Who I Want 2 B” [Dimension Point].

Other musicians backing XCX on “Vroom Vroom” are MNDR (Kylie Minogue), Noonie Bao (Carly Rae Jepsen), Patrick Berger (Santigold), Jodie Harsh (Sophie Ellis Bextor) and Jessica Ashley (Madison Beer).

Charli’s last studio collection, 2014’s “Sucker,” debuted at number twenty-eight on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles “Boom Clap,” “Break the Rules” and the Rita Ora-assisted “Doing It.”

On the songwriting front, XCX is responsible for co-penning Icona Pop’s “I Love It” [Big Beat], Neon Jungle’s “So Alive” [RCA], Selena Gomez’s “Same Old Love” [Interscope] and James Blunt’s “When I Find Love Again” [Atlantic].

Watch the music video for “Breaking Up” below.

Fifth Harmony unveils artwork for sophomore album “7/27”

25 Feb


Fifth Harmony have unwrapped the artwork for their upcoming second album.

The American girl group – composed of Ally Brooke, Normani Kordei, Lauren Jauregui, Camila Cabello and Dinah Jane – will release “7/27” on May 20 via Simon Cowell’s Sony imprint Syco Music and Epic Records.

Lead single “Work from Home” was written by Jude Demorest along with Brian Lee (Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga), Dallas K (Nate Campany, Pixie Lott), Eskeeredo (Wiz Khalifa, Chris Brown) and Ammo (Katy Perry, Britney Spears).

The follow-up to 2015’s “Reflection” reportedly boasts additional alliances with Max Martin, Julia Michaels, Mitch Allan, Justin Tranter, Meghan Trainor, Jack Antonoff, Jason Evigan, Taylor Parks, The Rascals, Jared Cotter, Negin Djafari, Tommy Brown, LunchMoney Lewis, Benny Blanco, and THE ELEV3N.

Watch the music video for “Sledgehammer” below.

Nao unleashes new single “Fool to Love”

25 Feb


NAO has unleashed her new single online.

The British singer-songwriter – real name Neo Joshua – posted the audio clip for “Fool to Love” on SoundCloud (Thursday / February 25, 2016).

Production duties on “Fool to Love” – now available for download via iTunes – were handled by Daniel “GRADES” Traynor, who also worked on the next projects by Becky Hill [Parlophone] and Natalie La Rose [Republic].

As mentioned in earlier posts, NAO will release her first studio collection – featuring lead single “Bad Blood” – later this year through Little Tokyo Recordings (UK) and RCA Records (US).

Preview the audio clip for “Fool to Love” below.

Icona Pop reunites with MSTR ROGERS for new single “Someone Who Can Dance”

25 Feb


Icona Pop have debuted their new single online.

The Swedish electronic pop duo – composed of Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo – posted the audio clip for “Someone Who Can Dance” to their YouTube channel on Wednesday (February 24, 2016).

Production duties on “Someone Who Can Dance” were handled by MSTR ROGERS, who previously teamed up with Icona Pop on the Fransisca Hall and Anjulie Persaud-assisted “In the Stars.”

His other credits include Charli XCX’s “Doing It” f/ Rita Ora [Neon Gold], Bea Miller’s “Fire N Gold” [Hollywood], Ella Eyre’s “If I Go” [Virgin EMI], Rebecca Ferguson’s “I Hope” [Syco] and Neon Jungle’s “So Alive” [RCA].

Meanwhile, Icona Pop are scheduled to release the follow-up to 2013’s “This Is… Icona Pop” later this year through TEN Music Group and Atlantic Records.

The still-untitled project reportedly features additional productions and songwriting contributions from Ricky Reed, Erik Hassle, Charli XCX, Justin Timberlake, Patrik Berger, Noonie Bao, and Sean Douglas.

Listen to the audio clip for “Someone Who Can Dance” below.

Troye Sivan premieres “YOUTH” music video

25 Feb


Troye Sivan has premiered the music video for his new single online.

The singer-songwriter posted the Malia James-directed / Austin Barbera-produced clip for “YOUTH” to Vevo on Wednesday (February 24, 2016).

“YOUTH” was written by Sivan and fellow recording artist Allie X along with Alex Hope (Kacy Hill, Delta Goodrem), Bram Inscore (Beck, Little Boots) and Brett “Leland” McLaughlin (Hayler Warner, Jessica Mauboy).

Sivan’s debut studio collection “Blue Neighbourhood” – featuring previous singles “Wild” and “Talk Me Down” – is now available for download via iTunes in partnership with EMI Music (Australia) and Capitol Records (US).

Watch the music video for “YOUTH” below.

Usher hits the studio with Keri Hilson, Polow Da Don

25 Feb


Usher has recorded new music with Keri Hilson and Polow Da Don.

It is yet to be known whether the session was intended for future Hilson release of Usher’s upcoming eighth album, tentatively entitled “Flawed.”

Hilson previously co-wrote “Red Light” for Usher along with Sean “The Pen” Garrett, Patrick “J. Que” Smith and Jonathan “Lil Jon” Smith.

Her songwriting resume includes further works with Britney Spears (“Gimme More”), Mary J. Blige (“Take Me As I Am”), Ciara (“Ooh Baby”), Jennifer Lopez (“Wrong When You’re Gone”) and Toni Braxton (“Supposed to Be”).

Meanwhile, recent production credits by Polow Da Don including Monica’s “Just Right for Me” [RCA], Tamia’s “Stuck With Me” [Def Jam], Tamar Braxton’s “Catfish” [Epic] and Chris Brown’s “Discover” [RCA].

Usher, on the other hand, is scheduled to release “Flawed” – featuring “I Don’t Mind,” “Good Kisser,” “Chains” “She Came to Give It to You” and “Clueless” – later this year through Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The keenly awaited project serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Looking 4 Myself,” which debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and delivered singles including “Climax,” “Lemme See” and “Dive.”

Watch the music video for “Lose Control” below.

James Morrison selects “I Need You Tonight” as new single

25 Feb


James Morrison has selected his new single.

The British singer-songwriter christened “I Need You Tonight” as the next promotional cut from his latest studio album, “Higher Than Here.”

“I Need You Tonight” was co-written by Paul Barry, whose recent credits include James Bay’s “Let it Go” [Republic], Take That’s “Will You Be There for Me” [Polydor] and The Vamps’ “Another World” [Virgin EMI].

Production duties were handled by Mark Taylor, who is also behind Ella Eyre’s “Always” [Virgin EMI], Kylie Minogue’s “On a Night Like This” [Parlophone] and Enrique Iglesias’s “Heartbeat” f/ Nicole Scherzinger [Polydor].

As mentioned in earlier posts, “Higher Than Here” – featuring previous singles “Demons” and “Stay Like This” – is now available via Island Records.

Other musicians backing Morrison on the follow-up to 2011’s “The Awakening” are Fred Cox, Jim Eliot, Mima Stilwell, Malay, Eg White, Martin Terefe, Jarrad Rogers, Martin Brammer, Kid Harpoon, Jonny Lattimer, and Steve Robson.

Watch the music video for “Stay Like This” below.