Archive | October, 2016

[Musicians’ Galore] Stargate (Part 1)

31 Oct


Stargate is Norwegian songwriting and production team, originally consisting of Tor Erik Hermansen, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen and Hallgeir Rustan.

Some of their most acclaimed works in the UK and Europe include Blue (“All Rise”), S Club 7 (“Two in a Million”), Billie Piper (“Day and Night”), Mis-Teeq (“Scandalous”), Atomic Kitten (“It’s Okay”), Lemar (“50/50”), Javine (“Real Things”) and Samantha Mumba (“Always Come Back to Your Love”).

Hope you enjoy the playlist I have created, “Stargate (Part 1),” which focuses on their work in the UK before relocating to the US in 2005, where they have achieved massive success with Rihanna (“Say My Name”), Ne-Yo (“Because of You”), Beyoncé (“Irreplaceable”) and Fifth Harmony (“Worth It”).

Louisa Johnson teams with JKash for debut album

31 Oct


Louisa Johnson has teamed with Jacob “JKash” Hindlin for her debut album.

The three-time ASCAP award winning and Grammy nominated songwriter recently co-wrote Bebe Rexha’s “I Got You” [Warner Brothers], Maroon 5’s “Don’t Wanna Know” [Interscope], Jennifer Lopez’s “Ain’t Your Mama” [Epic] and Charlie Puth’s “We Don’t Talk Anymore” [Atlantic].

His extensive resume boasts further works with Meghan Trainor (“NO”), Usher (“I Don’t Mind”), Jason Derulo (“Wiggle”), Carly Rae Jepsen (“I Really Like You”), Selena Gomez (“Sober”), Jessie J (“Burnin’ Up”), Ciara (“Give Me Love”), Kylie Minogue (“Into the Blue”) and Fifth Harmony (“Bo$$”).

Meanwhile, Johnson is scheduled to release her first studio collection in 2017 via Simon Cowell’s Sony imprint Syco Music.

Current single “So Good” – which was written by Chelcee Grimes, Ed Drewett and Steve Mac – is now available is via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

Other songwriters backing Johnson on her debut album are MoZella, Ali Tamposi, Chloe Angelides, Priscilla Renea, Sam Romans, Ina Wroldsen, Joe Janiak, Negin Djafari, Wayne Hector, Marlon Roudette, and Emma Rohan.

Watch Louisa’s live performance of “So Good” below.

SIGMA collaborate with Birdy for new single “Find Me”

31 Oct


SIGMA have announced the details for their new single.

The British drum and bass duo – consisting of Cameron Edwards and Joe Lenzie – christened “Find Me” as the first promotional cut from their upcoming sophomore album under independent UK dance record label, 3Beat Music.

“Find Me” – which features guest vocals from singer-songwriter Birdy – was co-written by Camille Purcell, whose other credits include Little Mix (“Shout Out to My Ex”), Olly Murs (“You Don’t Know Love”) and Fleur East (“Sax”).

Co-production duties on “Find Me” were handled by Peter “Merf” Kelleher, Benjamin Kohn an Thomas “Froe” Barnes of TMS, who previously teamed up with SIGMA on singles “Coming Home,” “Higher” and “Changing.”

Moreover, TMS – who also teamed up with Birdy on “Give Up” and “Wild Horses” – have contributed to the next projects by Raye, Era Istrefi, Imani Williams, Emeli Sande, Liv Dawson, Paloma Faith, Dua Lipa, and Ella Henderson.

Other musicians backing SIGMA on the follow-up to 2015’s “Life” are Sam Romans (AlunaGeorge), Ed Drewett (Louisa Johnson), Jamie Scott (Adele), Digital Farm Animals (Liam Payne) and Ed Thomas (Sinead Harnett).

Watch the music video for “Wild Horses” below.

Christina Aguilera unleashes “Telepathy” music video

30 Oct


Christina Aguilera has unleashed a new promotional video online.

The singer-songwriter posted the visual clip for “Telepathy” – featuring Nile Rodgers – to her YouTube channel on Sunday (October 30, 2016).

The track – which was produced by Elliot Wheeler and Baz Luhrmann – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

“Telepathy” was also written by Sia (Beyonce, Alicia Keys) alongside Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen of Stargate (Usher, Charli XCX).

As mentioned in earlier posts, Aguilera is expected to release her eighth studio collection later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The still-untitled project serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Lotus,” which peaked to number seven on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles including “Your Body” and “Just a Fool.”

Watch the music video for “Telepathy” below.

Charli XCX premieres “After the Afterparty” music video

30 Oct


Charli XCX has premiered the music video for her new single online.

The British singer-songwriter posted the visual clip for “After the Afterparty” – featuring Lil Yachty – to her YouTube channel on Sunday (October 30, 2016).

The track was co-written by XCX along with Rachel “Raye” Keen (Rudimental, Jonas Blue), Eyelar Mirzazadeh (Rita Ora, Macy Marie Maloy) and Samuel “SOPHIE” Long (Madonna, Namie Amuro).

Production duties on “After the Afterparty” were collectively handled by Tor Erik Hermansen and Mikkel Storleer Eriksen of Stargate (Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey) and Fred Gibson (Noonie Bao, Ellie Goulding).

As mentioned in earlier posts, XCX – real name Charlotte Aitchison – will release her next studio collection in 2017 via Vroom Vroom Recordings in partnership with Asylum Records and Atlantic Records.

Her last studio collection, 2014’s “Sucker,” debuted at number twenty-eight on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles “Boom Clap,” “Break the Rules” and the Rita Ora-assisted “Doing It.”

Watch the music video for “After the Afterparty” below.

Alicia Keys reveals new album “HERE” tracklist

30 Oct


Alicia Keys has revealed the tracklisting for her upcoming sixth album.

The singer-songwriter-record producer will release “HERE” on November 4 via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

Current single “Holy War” – which was written by Keys alongside Billy Walsh and Carlo “Illangelo” Montagnese – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The follow-up to 2013’s “Girl on Fire” delivers additional productions and songwriting contributions from Swizz Beatz (Angie Stone), Harold Lily (Christina Milian), Mark Batson (Lianne La Havas), Tish Hyman (Kelly Rowland), Jimmy Napes (Sam Smith) and Taylor Parks (Demi Lovato).

Other musicians expected to appear on “HERE” are Pharrell Williams (Lion Babe), Sam Romans (John Legend), Emeli Sande (Rihanna), Sampha (Jessie Ware), Mike Dean (Kanye West) and Sam Dew (Marsha Ambrosius).

Peep the tracklisting below.

(1) The Beginning (Interlude) / (2) The Gospel / (3) Pawn It All / (4) Elaine Brown (Interlude) / (5) Kill Your Mama / (6) She Don’t Really Care_1LUV / (7) Elevate (Interlude) / (8) Illusion of Bliss / (9) Blended Family (What You Do for Love) / (10) Work on It / (11) Cocoa Butter (Interlude) / (12) Girl Can’t Be Herself / (13) Your Glow (Interlude) / (14) More Than We Know / (15) Where Do We Begin Now / (16) Holy War / International Edition – (17) In Common / (18) Hallelujah

Liam Payne enlists Bibi Bourelly, Ben Billions, DannyBoyStyles for debut album

29 Oct


Liam Payne has enlisted the songwriting and production services of Bibi Bourelly, Ben Billions and DannyBoyStyles for his upcoming debut album.

Bourelly’s songwriting resume includes works with Rihanna (“Bitch Better Have My Money”), Selena Gomez (“Camouflage”) and Usher (“Chains”).

Meanwhile, Ben Billions and DannyBoyStyles have produced tracks for Banks (“Judas”), The Weeknd (“Acquainted”) and Beyoncé (“6 Inch”).

Payne, on the other hand, is expected to release his first studio collection in 2017 via Capitol Records (UK) and Republic Records (US).

The still-untitled project reportedly delivers further alliances with Pharrell Williams (John Legend), Marlon Roudette (Louisa Johnson), Marlon “Hookman” Bonds (Jason Derulo), Digital Farm Animals (Noah Cyrus), Jean Baptiste Kouame (Little Mix) and Michael McHenry (AlunaGeorge).

Watch the music video for “Ego” below.