Sam Smith hits the studio with Johnny McDaid

8 Feb


Sam Smith has recorded new music with Johnny McDaid.

The Irish record producer and songwriter recently co-penned “Shape of You” for Ed Sheeran alongside the song’s producer Steve Mac.

McDaid’s other credits include James Blunt’s “Make Me Better,” Aquilo’s “Sorry,” Robbie Williams’ “Love of My Life,” Birdy’s “Wild Horses,” Biffy Clyro’s “Howl,” Example’s “Say Nothing,” and Rudimental’s “Never Let You Go.”

Meanwhile, Smith is expected to release his sophomore studio collection later this year via Method Records and Capitol Records.

The still-untitled project reportedly delivers further contributions from Jimmy Napes (Alicia Keys), Malay (Frank Ocean), Levi Lennox (Bebe Rexha), Mark Taylor (Ella Eyre) Cass Lowe (Stanaj) and Jason Boyd (Jason Derulo).

Smith’s first studio collection, 2014’s “In the Lonely Hour,” debuted at number two on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles including “Stay With Me,” “Lay Me Down” and “I’m Not the Only One.”

Watch the music video for “Omen” below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: