Archive | April, 2018

Brandy reunites with LaShawn Daniels, Harvey Mason Jr. for new collaboration

25 Apr

American singer, songwriter, and actress Brandy Norwood (known mononymously as Brandy) has reunited with Harvey Mason Jr. and LaShawn “Big Shiz” Daniels for a new collaboration.

Mason Jr. previously co-produced and co-wrote “Truthfully” alongside Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins, Marc Nelson, and Brad Gilderman. The track appears on Brandy’s sophomore studio collection, “Never Say Never” (1998), which peaked to number two on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart.

Meanwhile, Daniels is responsible for co-writing fan favorites including “Fall” and “Nothing,” as well as international hit singles “The Boy is Mine” (featuring Monica), “Top of the World” (featuring Mase) and “What About Us.”

Brandy, on the other hand, is scheduled to release her seventh album – featuring further contributions from Darhyl “DJ” Camper, Kelly Rowland, Fantasia, and Jazmine Sullivan – later this year via Primary Wave / eOne Music.

The still-untitled project follows 2012’s “Two Eleven,” which topped the US Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart and spawned two singles in the shape of “Wildest Dreams” and the Chris Brown-featuring “Put it Down.”

Watch the music video for “Put it Down” below.

Years & Years reveal tracklisting for new album “Palo Santo”

25 Apr

British electronic music trio Years & Years have revealed the tracklisting for their upcoming sophomore album, “Palo Santo,” which is scheduled to arrive later this year via Universal Music Group / Polydor Records.

Current promotional single “Sanctify” – written by lead vocalist Olly Alexander alongside regular collaborator Thomas “Kid Harpoon” Hull – is now available via iTunes and all other digital streaming outlets.

The follow-up to 2015’s “Communion” delivers additional contributions from Greg Kurstin, Julia Michaels, Justin Tranter, Sarah Hudson, Mark Ralph, Alex Hope, Grades, Steve Mac, Noonie Bao, MNEK, and Clarence Coffee Jr.

See the tracklisting for “Palo Santo” below.

Standard Edition – (1) Sanctify / (2) Hallelujah / (3) All for You / (4) Karma / (5) Hypnotised / (6) Rendezvous / (7) If You’re over Me / (8) Preacher / (9) Lucky Escape / (10) Palo Santo / (11) Here – Interlude / Deluxe Edition – (12) Howl / (13) Don’t Panic / (14) Up in Flames

Janelle Monae premieres music video for new single “I Like That”

24 Apr

Janelle Monae has premiered the music video for her new single online.

The Lacey Duke-directed clip for “I Like That” was posted to the American singer/songwriter’s YouTube channel Monday (April 23, 2018).

Co-written by Tayla Parx and collectively produced by Nate Rocket Wonder and Organized Noize; “I Like That” is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

Monae’s fourth album “Dirty Computer” – featuring previous singles “Make Me Feel,” “Django Jane” and “Pynk” – will arrive on April 27th via Wondaland Records in partnership with Bad Boy Records and Atlantic Records.

The highly-anticipated project delivers further productions and songwriting contributions from Mattman & Robin, Julia Michaels, Justin Tranter, Pharrell Williams, Mr. Hudson, Nana Kwabena, Jon Brion, Roman GianArthur, Wynne Bennett, Chuck Lightning, and Jonathan Webb Jr.

Watch the music video for “I Like That” below.

Alicia Keys hits the studio with Andrew Wyatt

24 Apr

American singer, songwriter, and record producer Alicia Keys has teamed up with fellow musician Andrew Wyatt for a new collaboration.

The Miike Snow vocalist is responsible for co-writing singles including Bruno Mars’ “When I Was Your Man,” Lorde’s “Perfect Places,” Dua Lipa’s “New Love,” Liam Gallagher’s “Chinatown,” and Beck’s “Dreams.”

Wyatt’s songwriting resume boasts additional works with Florence + The Machine (“Wish That You Were Here”), Kacy Hill (“First Time”), Pixie Lott (“Ain’t Got You”) and Charli XCX (“I Need Ur Love”).

Meanwhile, Keys is expected to release her seventh studio collection early next year via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The follow-up to 2016’s “Here” reportedly delivers further productions and songwriting contributions from Kaytranada, Johnny McDaid, Stacy Barthe, Arrow Benjamin, Emile Haynie, Fred Ball, DaHeala, and Foy Vance.

Watch the music video for “In Common” below.

Noah Cyrus teams up with Warren “Oak” Felder for new collaboration

23 Apr

Noah Cyrus has teamed up with Warren “Oak” Felder for a new collaboration.

Felder’s production resume boasts works with Demi Lovato (“Sorry Not Sorry”), Kehlani (“Distraction”), Alessia Cara (“Scars to Your Beautiful”), Alina Baraz (“I Don’t Even Know Why Though”) and Snakehips (“Either Way”).

The American musician has also contributed to the next projects by Liam Payne, Sabina Ddumba, Ray BLK, Tori Kelly, Nick Jonas, Zhavia Ward, Dinah Jane, Aloe Blacc, Ella Henderson, John Legend, Sabrina Carpenter, and Raye.

Meanwhile, Cyrus is expected to release her debut album “NC-17” – featuring current single “We Are Fucked” – later this year via Barry Weiss’ label RECORDS in partnership with Sony Music imprint Columbia Records.

The highly-anticipated project reportedly delivers further contributions from Benny Cassette, Emily Weisband, Big Taste, Sasha Sloan, Knightstarr, Jin Jin, Two Inch Punch, Noonie Bao, Sam Romans, Joe Janiak, Sebastian Kole, Paul E. Phamous, Zaire Kaolo, Trevor Brown, Mike Elizondo, and Stint.

Watch the music video for “Again” below.

Chromeo schedule release date for new album “Head Over Heels”

23 Apr

Chromeo have scheduled the release date for their upcoming album.

The Canadian electro-funk duo – composed of David “Dave 1” Macklovitch and Patrick “P-Thugg” Gemayel – will release “Head Over Heels” on June 15 via Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records.

Current promotional single “Must’ve Been” – which was co-written by Ammar Malik, Isaiah Tejada, Gamal “LunchMoney” Lewis, Jacob “JKash” Kasher, Spencer Bastian, and Jason Evigan – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The follow-up to 2014’s “White Women” reportedly yields additional alliances with The Monsters & Strangerz, Priscilla Renea, Ian Kirkpatrick, Digital Farm Animals, MNEK, Andrew Jackson, Scott Harris, and Lindy Robbins.

Watch the music video for “Must’ve Been” below.

Zhavia Ward signs new deal with Columbia Records

22 Apr

Zhavia Ward has signed a new deal with Columbia Records.

The Sony Music imprint also houses artists including Beyonce, Calvin Harris, Diplo, Harry Styles, John Mayer, Haim, Leon Bridges, George Ezra, Adele, John Legend, Celine Dion, Lecrae, Noah Cyrus, and Lennon Stella.

For her upcoming debut project, Ward has worked with songwriters Priscilla Renea (Rihanna, Charlie Puth), Ben Abraham (Kesha, Ray BLK), Jin Jin (Ebba Smith, Jess Glynne) and Paul E. Phamous (Lykke Li, Nick Jonas).

On the production front, “The Four” star has teamed up with Benny Cassette (Diana Gordon, Keri Hilson), Warren Felder (Liam Payne, Demi Lovato), Alex Hope (Troye Sivan, Kacy Hill), M-Phazes (Kehlani, Zara Larsson) and Symbolyc One (Madonna, Kanye West) and Trevor Brown (Alina Baraz, Maty Noyes).