Archive | March, 2019

Shaznay Lewis reunites with Future Cut for new collaboration

20 Mar

Shaznay Lewis has reunited with Future Cut for a new collaboration.

Composed of Darren Lewis and Tunde Babalola, Future Cut previously teamed up with Lewis on songs performed by Stooshe (“Black Heart”), Little Mix (“How Ya Doing”), Cocknbullkid (“Distractions”) and Annabel Fey (“Already Home”).

The British production duo are also responsible for Lily Allen’s “Smile,” Olly Murs’s “Please Don’t Let Me Go,” Shakira’s “Gypsy,” Maxine Ashley’s “Happy With or Without You,” Laura Izibor’s “Shine,” Ava Leigh’s “Mad About the Boy” Sky Ferreira’s “On the Wire,” and Mae Muller’s “Leave it Out.”

Shaznay’s debut album, “Open,” was released in 19 July 2004 via London Records. That project peaked to number twenty two on the UK Albums Chart and spawned contributions from Rick Nowels (“I Never Felt Like This Before”), Basement Jaxx (“Mr. Dawg”) and Karl Gordon (“Heart Made Me a Fool”).

Besides co-writing the entirety of All Saints’ latest studio collection, “Testament,” Shaznay has also penned songs for Monrose (“This is Me”), Westlife (“Reach Out”), Pixie Lott (“When the World Walks Out”), Girls Can’t Catch (“Turn Me Up”) and Mutya Keisha Siobhan (“Only You”).

Stream the audio clip for “Heart Made Me a Fool” below.

Sam Smith hits the studio with Amy Allen, Two Inch Punch

20 Mar

Sam Smith has recorded new music with Amy Allen and Two Inch Punch.

Born Benjamin Ash, Two Inch Punch previously co-wrote and produced Sam Smith’s “Money on My Mind,” which topped the UK Singles Chart in 2014. The pair also worked on two additional songs – “Life Support” and “Safe With Me.”

Meanwhile, Allen is responsible for co-writing Fletcher’s “Undrunk,” Shawn Mendes’s “When You’re Ready,” Halsey’s “Without Me,” Matoma’s “Losing It Over You,” Selena Gomez’s “Back to You,” and Dinah Jane’s “Pressure.”

Smith’s current single “Dancing With a Stranger” (featuring Normani) – which was produced by regular collaborators Jimmy Napes alongside Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen of Stargate – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

His upcoming third album and follow-up to 2017’s “The Thrill of It All” – featuring further productions and songwriting contributions from Kamille and Steve Mac – is expected to arrive later this year via Capitol Records.

Watch the music video for “Money on My Mind” below.

Kamille teases new collaboration with Pharrell Williams

19 Mar

British singer/songwriter Camille Purcell, known mononymously as Kamille, has teased a new collaboration with Pharrell Williams.

“When @pharrell likes a song u wrote but u never got to tell him thank u,” Kamille posted to Instagram on Monday (March 18, 2019).

Williams’s recent songwriting and production credits include Ariana Grande’s “The Light is Coming,” Travis Scott’s “Skeletons,” Janelle Monae’s “I Got the Juice,” Camila Cabello’s “Sangria Wine,” Justin Timberlake’s “Man of the Woods,” and The Carters’ “Apeshit.”

Meanwhile, Kamille is expected to release her upcoming project and follow-up to 2017’s “My Head’s a Mess” later this year via Virgin EMI Records.

She has also contributed to the next releases by Sam Smith, Tiesto, Lianne La Havas, Dan Caplen, Ellie Goulding, John Newman, Dua Lipa, Mullally, Nick Jonas, Ray BLK, Stormzy, Liam Tomlinson, and Years & Years.

Besides Pharrell Williams, Kamille has also been in the studio with producers Goldfingers, Steve Mac, Fraser T. Smith, Invisible Men, Cass Lowe, Jamie Scott, T-Collar, Nana Rogues, Diztortion, Naughty Boy, Louis Bell, SG Lewis, Al Shux, Levi Lennox, Shama Joseph, and Sons of Sonix.

Stream the audio clip for “Emotional” below.


Dua Lipa enlists Billy Walsh for new collaboration

18 Mar

Dua Lipa has enlisted Billy Walsh for a new collaboration.

The Canadian songwriter, fashion stylist, and designer is known for co-writing Alicia Keys’ “In Common,” The Weeknd’s “Die for You,” Camila Cabello’s “Real Friends,” Post Malone’s “I Fall Apart,” Emeli Sande’s “Starlight,” Khalid’s “Stay,” Tinashe’s “Party Favors,” and Majid Jordan’s “Something About You.”

Meanwhile, Dua Lipa’s upcoming sophomore album – featuring further songwriting contributions from Lindy Robbins, Tayla Parx, Kamille, Sasha Sloan, Emily Warren, Caroline Ailin, Kennedi, Ilsey Juber, Sarah Hudson, and Tove Lo – is expected to arrive later this year via Warner Bros. Records.

On the production front, the “New Rules” singer has reportedly worked with Stephen “Koz” Kozmeniuk, Pharrell Williams, Joel Little, Grades, King Henry, Boi-1da, Frank Dukes, Nineteen85, MNEK, Jason Evigan, Fred Ball, Ilya Salmanzadeh, and Max Martin.

Stream the audio clip for “Swan Song” below.

Alina Baraz hits the studio with Elof Loelv, Hayley Gene Penner

18 Mar

American singer/songwriter Alina Baraz has teamed up with Hayley Gene Penner and Elof Loelv for a new collaboration.

Penner’s songwriting resume boasts works with Charlotte Lawrence (“Keep Me Up”), Sabrina Claudio (“Cross Your Mind”), Lennon Stella (“Feelings”), Victoria Justice (“Shake”), Cody Simpson (“Paradise”), Magic (“Red Dress”), Snow Tha Product (“Nights”) and Prince Royce (“My Problem Is”).

Meanwhile, Loelv is responsible for co-writing and producing Rihanna’s “Stay,” Katy Perry’s “Save As Draft,” Zara Larsson’s “Carry You Home,” Phoebe Ryan’s “Dark Side,” Tove Stryke’s “Say My Name,” Galantis’ “Call If You Need Me,” Backstreet Boys’ “New Love,” and Pentatonix’s “Can’t Sleep Love.”

Baraz’s upcoming project and follow-up to 2018’s “The Color of You” – featuring the Cara Salimando-penned/Stint-produced lead single “Feels Right” – is expected to arrive later this year via Mom + Pop Music.

The still-untitled collection reportedly delivers further contributions from from The Stereotypes, Michael Pollack, Grades, Mary Weitz, Jeff Gitty, Mayila, Hue Strother, J Mills, Skylar Grey, Jason Evigan, SG Lewis, and Warren “Oak” Felder.

Stream the audio clip for Hayley Gene Penner’s “Talking to Myself” below.

Mario releases new promotional single “Care for You”

17 Mar

American singer/songwriter Mario Barrett, known mononymously as Mario, has released his new promotional single online.

“Care for You” is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The track was co-written by Jackson Dimiglio-Wood alongside former Cherish member Felisha King, whose resume boasts additional works with Sevyn Streeter (“Before I Do”) and Tamar Braxton (“Simple Things”).

Production duties on “Care for You” were handled by Jake Gosling, who is also responsible for Ed Sheeran’s “Thinking Out Loud,” Shawn Mendes’s “Mercy,” Paloma Faith’s “Picking Up the Pieces,” Lupe Fiasco’s “Old School Love,” Shania Twain’s “Light of My Life,” and Rebecca Ferguson’s “Waiting for Me.”

Mario’s latest studio collection “Dancing Shadows” – featuring further contributions from Daecolm, Elijah Blake, XSDTRK, Ari PenSmith, P2J, Bianca “Blush” Atterberry, J Warner, Carla Marie Williams, Pham, Guordan Banks, and Ryan McDermott – is out now via New Citizen LLC / Empire.

Stream the audio clip for “Care for You” below.