Archive | Demos RSS feed for this section

Mikky Ekko releases demo for Rihanna duet ‘Stay’

23 Jan

Mikky Ekko

Mikky Ekko has released a new demo online.

The singer/songwriter – born posted “Stay” – made famous by Rihanna – to his official SoundCloud page on Wednesday (January 23, 2014).

The re-recorded version – made famous by Bajan starlet Rihanna – peaked at number two on the US Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart.

“Stay” was written by Ekko and Justin Parker, whose credits include “Video Games” by Lana Del Rey [Interscope Records], “I Know You Care” by Ellie Goulding [Polydor Records] and “Shame” by Keith Urban [Capitol Nashville].

The “Kids” star recently penned “We Remain” for Christina Aguilera along with Ryan “Alias” Tedder and Brent Kutze. The track was featured as part of the motion picture soundtrack, “Hunger Games: Catching Fire.”

Ekko’s upcoming debut album will boast collaborations with Pharrell Williams (Beyonce Knowles, Justin Timberlake), Greg Kurstin (Angel Haze, Lily Allen) and Warren “Oak” Felder (Jennifer Lopez, Mayer Hawthorne).

The still-untitled collection is expected to be released later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

Meanwhile, Rihanna’s newest collaboration with Shakira in the shape of “Can’t Remember to Forget You” – helmed by Erik Hassle, Alexander Asplund, John Hill and Kid Harpoon – is now available for download via iTunes.

Listen to Mikky Ekko’s original recording of “Stay” below.

Crystal Nicole unleashes demo for ‘Love Me Now’ by Melanie Amaro

7 Nov


Crystal Nicole has unleashed a new song online.

The singer/songwriter posted the demo for Melanie Amaro’s “Love Me Now” to her official SoundCloud page on Thursday (November 7, 2013).

The track was produced by Christopher “Tricky” Stewart and Kenneth “Soundz” Coby, who are also responsible for “Won’t Make a Fool Out of You” by Marcus Canty [Epic Records] and “Empty Prayers” by Mary J. Blige [Geffen Records].

Nicole has previously confirmed that the title of her debut album is “Masterpiece.” The set is preceded by new single “Sundown.”

Among the musicians contributing to the project are Jermaine Dupri (Ashanti, Deborah Cox), Harmony “H-Money” Samuels (Brandy, Kelly Rowland) and Alonzo “Novel” Stevenson (Leona Lewis, Alicia Keys).

Some of Nicole’s notable songwriting credits include “Special Delivery” by Bridget Kelly [Roc Nation Records], “Scared of Lonely” by Beyonce [Columbia Records] and “Touch My Body” by Mariah Carey [Island Def Jam Recordings].

Listen to “Love Me Now” below.