Archive | Mixtapes RSS feed for this section

Charli XCX releases “Number 1 Angel” mixtape

11 Mar

British singer/songwriter Charli XCX has released a new mixtape online.

“Number 1 Angel” – featuring 10 new songs in the shape of “Dreamer,” “3 AM (Pull Up),” “Blame it On You,” “Roll with Me,” “Emotional,” “ILY2,” “White Roses,” “Babygirl,” “Drugs” and “Ligpgloss” – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The mixtape boasts songwriting contributions and guest appearances from RAYE, Noonie Bao, Starrah, MØ, Sarah Hudson, MNDR, Cupcakke, and Uffie.

On the production front, XCX has teamed up with A.G. Cook, John Hill, SOPHIE, Easy FX, Danny L Harle, Life Sim, and EASYFUN.

Stream “Number 1 Angel” below.

Bridget Kelly releases new mixtape “Time Flies”

15 Feb


Bridget Kelly has released a new mixtape online.

“Time Flies” – featuring 10 new songs including “So Epic,” “Suffocates Me,” “Carry My Cross,” “Love You More” and “Afterlife” – is now available for streaming via online mixtape distribution platform DatPiff.

The collection also delivers productions and songwriting contributions from Jerry Duplessis (Whitney Houston), Crystal Nicole (Mary J. Blige), Arden Altino (Jennifer Hudson), Al Shux (Lianne La Havas), James Fauntleroy (Beyonce), Drew Scott (Tynisha Keli) and Jordan Bratton (Kim Cesarion).

As mentioned in earlier posts, Kelly’s highly-anticipated debut album “All or Nothing” is expected to arrive later this year.

On the songwriting front, Kelly is known for co-writing “Einestein” for Kelly Clarkson alongside James Fauntleroy and Toby Gad.

The former Roc Nation signee’s resume boasts further works with songwriters Ester Dean (“My Heart”), Samuel Dew (“Mouth”), The-Dream (“Seek and Destroy”), Shannell Woodgett (“Every Girl”), Eric Bellinger (“Shit Happens”), Ne-Yo (“In the Morning”) and Frank Ocean (“Thinking About Forever”).

Kelly also worked with top producers including Linda Perry (“Walkin’ on Glass”), Swizz Beatz (“This Love”), Da Internz (“Run After You”), Eric Hudson (“Special Delivery”), Shea Taylor (“Street Dreaming”), Darhyl Camper (“Friends”), Alex Da Kid (“Crash and Burn”) and Harmony Samuels (“When in Rome”).

Watch the music video for “Special Delivery” below.

Teyana Taylor shares new mini-project “The Cassette Tape”

27 Aug


Teyana Taylor has shared her new mixtape online.

The singer/songwriter posted the mini-collection entitled “The Cassette Tape” – featuring “Your Wish is My Command,” “Tonight,” “Undercover,” “Touch Me” and “Who’s Gonna Make it Home” – to her official SoundCloud page.

Production duties on “The Cassette Tape” were collectively handled by Kanye West (Mariah Carey, Janet Jackson), Jonathan “J.R.” Rotem (Rihanna, Fifth Harmony) and Da Internz (Jazmine Sullivan, Tamar Braxton).

Taylor’s debut album, 2014’s “VII,” peaked to number one on the US Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart and spawned hit singles including “Maybe,” “Business,” and the Chris Brown-assisted “Do Not Disturb.”

Preview “The Cassette Tape” below.

Teyana Taylor teams up with Da Internz for new mixtape

2 Aug


Teyana Taylor has confirmed the details for her new mixtape.

The singer/songwriter christened her upcoming collection “The Cassette Tape” and will release it on Monday (August 10, 2015).

Marcos “Kosine” Palacios and Ernest “Tuo” Clark of Da Internz are among the producers on the highly-anticipated project.

Some of their recent credits include Nicki Minaj’s “Anaconda” [Cash Money], Tamar Braxton’s “If I Don’t Have You” [Epic], Sevyn Streeter’s “Love in Competition” [Atlantic] and Jazmine Sullivan’s “Stanley” [RCA].

Taylor’s debut album, 2014’s “VII,” debuted at number nineteen on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and delivered singles including “Maybe,” “Broken Hearted Girl,” “Business” and the Chris Brown-assisted “Do Not Disturb.”

Watch the music video for “Maybe” below.

Tinashe announces new mixtape “Amethyst”

14 Mar

Tinashe - Amethyst

Tinashe has announced the title for her new mixtape.

The singer/songwriter dubbed her fourth mixtape “Amethyst” and will release it on Monday (March 16, 2015).

“Amethyst” serves as the follow-up to 2013’s “Black Water,” which included the Boi-1da produced “Vulnerable” and Devonte Hynes-assisted “Fugitive.”

As mentioned in earlier posts, Tinashe is currently recording new material for her upcoming sophomore album under RCA Records.

Her debut studio collection “Aquarius” – featuring hit singles “2 On,” “Pretend” and “All Hands on Deck” – peaked to number 17 on the US Albums Chart.

Peep the tracklisting for “Amethyst” below.

“Dreams Are Real”
“Something to Feel”
“Looking 4 It”
“Worth It”
“Just the Way I Like You”

Polly A. announces new project “Ghetto Gold Dream”

24 Dec

Polly A

Polly A. has announced the title for her upcoming project.

The singer/songwriter – real name name Meleni Smith – christened her next collection of songs “Ghetto Gold Dreams” and will release it early next year.

“Ghetto Gold Dreams” serves as the follow-up to “Distorted Fairy Tales,” which features the Matrax-produced / Frankie Storm-assisted single “Nature.”

As a songwriter, Polly A. penned songs for Alicia Keys (“Love is My Disease”), Natasha Bedingfield (“Happy”), Selena Gomez (“Bang Bang Bang”), Angel Haze (“No Bueno”), J. Cole (“Crooked Smile”) and Kat Dahlia (“Mirror”).

Her resume also includes works with hitmakers Stargate (Rihanna, Katy Perry), Toby Gad (Madonna, John Legend), Salaam Remi (Usher, Jordin Sparks), Boi-1da (Tinashe, Kelly Rowland) and Syience (Beyonce, Emeli Sande).

Watch the music video for “Nature” below.

Frankie Storm debuts new mixtape “The Calm”

7 Oct


Frankie Storm has debuted her new mixtape online.

The R&B singer/songwriter posted “The Calm” to her official SoundCloud page on Monday (September 29, 2014).

“The Calm (The Mixtape)” serves as the prelude to her first studio collection, “The Storm is Coming.”

Storm previously co-wrote songs for Britney Spears [RCA Records], Ciara [Epic Records], Angel Haze [Island Records] and Kat Dahlia [Epic Records].

Some of her notable songwriting credits include “Don’t Stop the Music” by Rihanna [Def Jam Recordings], “Lightweight” by Demi Lovato [Hollywood Records] and “Can You Hear Me” by Enrique Iglesias [Republic Records].

Listen to “The Calm” below.