Tag Archives: Dre & Vidal

[Common Collaborators] Alicia Keys and Beyoncé

5 Jul

Since its a slow news day, I thought about writing this post, which has been on my mind for a while now. Its about songwriters/producers who worked with two artists that are frequently associated with one another. For this post, I have chosen Alicia Keys and Beyoncé.  In case you did not know, Keys was signed to Columbia Records (which is Beyoncé’s current label) before signing to Clive Davis’ J Records.  Here are the musicians that both artists have worked with:

  • Alonzo “Novel” Stevenson: Alicia Keys (“Tell You Something”) / Beyoncé (“My Body”)
  • Antonio Dixon: Alicia Keys (“That’s When I Knew”) / Beyoncé (“Best Thing I Never Had”)
  • Candice Nelson: Alicia Keys (“Heartburn”) / Beyoncé (“Resentment”)
  • Chad Hugo: Alicia Keys (“How Come You Don’t Call Me” – Remix) / Beyonce (“I Care,” “Work it Out” and “My First Time”)
  • Dre & Vidal: Alicia Keys (“So Simple”) / Beyonce (“T-Shirt” w/ Destiny’s Child)
  • Frank Ocean: Alicia Keys (“One Thing”) / Beyoncé (“I Miss You” and “Superpower”)
  • Harold Lilly: Alicia Keys (“Teenage Love Affair,” “Wreckless Love,” “Saviour,” “Where Do We Go from Here,” “I Need You,” “Pawn it All,” “Illusion of Bliss,” “Girl Can’t Be Herself,” “More Than We Know,” “So Simple” and “Where Do We Begin Now”) / Beyoncé (“Ego”)
  • Jeff Bhasker: Alicia Keys (“Girl on Fire,” “Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart,” “Love is Blind,” “Wait Til You See My Smile,” “Like the Sea” and “Tears Always Win”) / Beyoncé (“I Care,” “Rather Die Young” and “Party”)
  • Jermaine Dupri: Alicia Keys (“Girlfriend” and “My Boo”) / Beyoncé (“With Me” w/ Destiny’s Child)
  • Justin Timberlake: Alicia Keys (“How Come You Don’t Call Me – Remix” and “Morning Light”) / Beyoncé (“Until the End of Time,” “Blow” and “Rocket”)
  • Kandi Burruss: Alicia Keys (“Jane Doe”) / Beyoncé (“Bills, Bills, Bills,” “So Good,” “Bug a Boo,” “Hey Ladies” and “She Can’t Love” w/ Destiny’s Child)
  • Kanye West: Alicia Keys (“You Don’t Know My Name” and “Unbreakable”) / Beyoncé (“Party”)
  • Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds: Alicia Keys (“That’s When I Knew”) / Beyoncé (“Best Thing I Never Had” and “Broken Hearted Girl”).
  • LaShawn “Big Shiz” Daniels: Alicia Keys (“Rear View Mirror”) / Beyoncé (“Scared of Lonely,” “World Wide Woman” and “Back Up”)
  • Miguel: Alicia Keys (“Where’s the Fun in Forever”) / Beyoncé (“Rocket”)
  • Noah “40” Shebib: Alicia Keys (“Unthinkable”) / Beyoncé (“Mine”)
  • Pharrell Williams: Alicia Keys (“Work on It,” “It’s On Again,” “Know Who Are” and “Apple”) / Beyoncé (“Work it Out,” “Green Light,” “Kitty Kat,” “Blow,” “Superpower” and “My First Time”)
  • Rich Harrison: Alicia Keys (“Ain’t No Reason” – performed by Christina Milian) / Beyoncé (“Crazy in Love,” “Be with You,” “Suga Mama,” “Freakum Dress” and Creole)
  • Rodney Jerkins: Alicia Keys (“Rear View Mirror” and “Listen to Your Heart”) / Beyoncé (“Déjà vu,” “Back Up,” “World Wide Woman” and “Scared of Lonely”)
  • Sean Garrett: Alicia Keys (“Waiting for Your Love”) / Beyoncé (“Ring the Alarm,” “Get Me Bodied,” “Upgrade U,” “Check on It,” “Green Light,” “Diva,” “Video Phone” and “Lay Up Under Me”)
  • Swizz Beatz: Alicia Keys (“Waiting for Your Love,” “Put it in a Love Song,” “New Day,” “The Gospel,” “Pawn it All,” “She Don’t Really Care,” “Million Dollar Bill,” “Wait Til You See My Smile”) and “Illusion of Bliss”) / Beyoncé (“Get Me Bodied,” “Upgrade U,” “Ring the Alarm,” “Lost Your Mind” and “Check on It”)
  • Timbaland: Alicia Keys (“Heartburn”) / Beyoncé (“Partition,” “Drunk in Love” and “Rocket”)
  • Toby Gad: Alicia Keys (“Love is My Disease”) / Beyoncé (“If I Were a Boy”)

Stream the audio clip for “Put It in a Love Song” below.

[Musicians’ Galore] Dre & Vidal

19 Feb


Dre & Vidal is a songwriting and production duo consisting of Andre Harris and Vidal Davis, who are known for their works with Jill Scott (“A Long Walk”), Usher (“Caught Up”), Ciara (“Oh”), Desinty’s Child (“T-Shirt”), Mariah Carey (“Lullaby”), Alicia Keys (“So Simple”), Toni Braxton (“Hats Off”), Mary J. Blige (“Hurt Again”), Eve (“Something Special”) and Amerie (“Just Like Me”).

The duo’s extensive resume boasts further works with Richgirl (“Swagga Right”), Girlicious (“Radio”), Faith Evans (“Vulnerable”), Trey Songz (“Store Run”), Miguel (“Hero”), Chris Brown (“Hold Up”), Monica (“No”), Fantasia (“Girl Like Me”), Marsha Ambrosius (“Your Hands”), Emily King (“Lend a Hand”), Claudette Ortiz (“Lifetime”) and Kelly Clarkson (“The Day We Fell Apart”).

Amongst the songwriters Dre & Vidal have collaborated with Andrea Martin, Kara DioGuardi, Makeba Riddick, Hillary Lindsey, Kristal Oliver, Jessyca Wilson, Kandi Burruss, NiRe AllDai, Anjulie Persaud, Candice Nelson, Tamara Savage, Ross Golan, Lil Eddie, Jason Boyd, Ryan Toby, Johnta Austin, J. Que, Ezekiel Lewis, Balewa Muhammad, Thabiso Nkhereanye, and Harold Lilly.

Hope you’ll enjoy the following the playlist dedicated to Dre & Vidal’s work!

Teyana Taylor confirms debut album “VII”

1 Aug

Teyana Taylor01

Teyana Taylor has confirmed the title for her debut album.

The R&B singer/songwriter christened her new collection “VII” and will release it on October 21 via G.O.O.D. Music / Def Jam Recordings.

Lead single “Maybe” – written by Teyana Taylor along with Jaramye Daniels, Rasool Diaz, Akil C. King, Kyle Owen, Andre Proctor and Brian Soko – is now available for download via iTunes and all other digital outlets.

The highly-anticipated LP is said to feature additional collaborations with Dre & Vidal, Harmony Samuels, Anesha Birchett, and Antea Shelton.

Listen to “Maybe” – featuring Yo Gotti & Pusha T – below.

Teyana Taylor confirms Andre Harris, Vidal Davis for debut album

23 Feb

Singer/songwriter Teyana Taylor has confirmed Andre Harris and Vidal Davis for her upcoming debut album, scheduled for release later this year via Universal Music Group / GOOD Music / Def Jam Records.

The songwriting and production duo – better known as Dre & Vidal – are responsible for helming tracks including “So Simple” by Alicia Keys [Sony Music Entertainment / J Records], “Lullaby” by Mariah Carey [Universal Music Group / Island Def Jam Recordings] and “Your Hands” by Marsha Ambrosius [Sony Music Entertainment / J Records].

Meanwhile, Teyana Taylor recently featured on two tracks – “Sin City” and “Bliss” – from the GOOD Music compilation album “Cruel Summer.” That release debuted at number two on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart, selling 205,000 copies in its first week. The album also reached the top 10 of charts in Australia, Canada, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.