Tag Archives: Evolve Music Group

MNEK hits the studio with Rodney Jerkins

13 Mar

MNEK - Rodney Jerkins

MNEK has teamed with Rodney Jerkins on new material.

It is yet to be known whether the session was intended for another artist or MNEK’s upcoming debut studio collection.

Jerkins recently served as executive producer for Mary J. Blige’s latest album “The London Sessions” along with British hitmaker Jimmy Napes.

He is also responsible for co-writing and producing Ciara’s “Read My Lips” [Epic Records], Leona Lewis’ “Shake You Up” [Syco Music] and Mariah Carey’s “You’re Mine (Eternal)” [Def Jam Recordings].

Meanwhile, MNEK – real name Uzoechi Emenike – is expected to release his first album later this year via Universal Music Group / Virgin EMI Records.

On the songwriting and production front, MNEK has confirmed forthcoming placements with Jojo [Atlantic Records], Rudimental [Black Butter Records], Becky Hill [Parlophone Records] and Karen Harding [Capitol Records].

Watch the music video for “The Rhythm” below.

Evan Ross drops “How to Live Alone” lyric video

14 Dec


Evan Ross is out with the lyric video for his new single online.

The singer and actor posted the lyric-based visual clip for “How to Live Alone” to his official Vevo page on Saturday (December 13, 2014).

“How to Live Alone” was penned by Jon Bellion, who is also responsible for co-writing Jason Derulo’s “Trumpets” [Warner Bros. Records] and Eminem’s “The Monster” featuring Rihanna [Interscope Records].

Meanwhile, the upcoming project by Ross is expected to be released during the first quarter of 2015 via Evolve Music Group in partnership with Capitol Records.

The still-untitled collection reportedly spawns alliances with Rodney Jerkins (Brandy, Michael Jackson), DJ White Shadow (R. Kelly, Lady Gaga), Savan Kotecha (Usher, Ariana Grande) and Novel (Fantasia, Avery Wilson).

Watch the lyric video for “How to Live Alone” below.

Evan Ross announces new single “How to Live Alone”

7 Dec


Evan Ross has announced the title for his new single.

The actor and singer christened “How to Live Alone” as the first promotional cut from his upcoming project, which will be released in 2015 via Rodney Jerkins’ label Evolve Music Group and Capitol Records.

“How to Live Alone” was written by Jon Bellion, who is also responsible for helming Jason Derulo’s “Trumpets” [Warner Bros. Records] and Eminem’s “The Monster” featuring Rihanna [Interscope Records].

Other musicians backing Ross on the still-untitled project are Novel (Kelis, Alicia Keys), Ericka J. Coulter (Tamar Braxton, El DeBarge), Savan Kotecha (Britney Spears, Ariana Grande) and Arnthor Birgisson (Leona Lewis, Janet Jackson).

Mary J. Blige recruits Sam Smith for new project “The London Sessions”

5 Aug


Mary J. Blige has added Sam Smith to the list of contributors for her upcoming project, tentatively entitled “The London Sessions.”

The British singer/songwriter – born Samuel Frederick Smith – previously provided guest vocals for Disclosure (“Latch”) and Naughty Boy (“La La La”).

His debut album “In the Lonely Hour” – featuring international hit single “Stay with Me” – is now available via PMR / Capitol Records.

Meanwhile, the highly-anticipated new project by the “Be Without You” star is expected to be released later this year.

It will be executively produced by Naughty Boy, who also worked on the next albums by Rihanna [SRP Records], Ella Eyre [Virgin EMI Records], Kwabs [Atlantic Records] and Jess Glynne [Black Butter Records].

“The London Sessions” reportedly boasts further contributions from Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins, Emeli Sande, and Sam Romans.

Watch the Sam Smith perform “Stay with Me” with Mary J. Blige below.

Nathan Sykes hits the studio with Harmony “H-Money” Samuels

26 Jul


British singer/songwriter Nathan Sykes has recently teamed up with record producer Harmony “H-Money” Samuels for his upcoming project.

The pair previously teamed up on hit single “Almost is Never Enough,” taken from Ariana Grande’s debut album “Yours Truly.”

Samuels also contributed to the next releases by Gabi Wilson [RCA Records], Jojo [Atlantic Records], Teyana Taylor [Def Jam Recordings], Pia Mia [Interscope Records], and Ariana Grande [Republic Records].

Meanwhile, the as-yet-untitled project by the former member of Irish-English boy band The Wanted is expected to be released later this year.

It is said to feature further alliances with Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins (Jessie J, Emeli Sande) and Rob Knox (Leona Lewis, Justin Timberlake).

Watch the music video for “Almost is Never Enough” below.