Tag Archives: Happy Perez (musician)

Elijah Blake teams with Happy Perez for new song “Drop Dead Beautiful”

26 May


Elijah Blake has debuted a new song online.

The singer and songwriter posted the audio clip for “Drop Dead Beautiful” to his Vevo channel on Monday (May 25, 2015).

Production duties on “Drop Dead Beautiful” were handled by Happy Perez, whose other credits include Mariah Carey’s “#Beautiful” f/ Miguel [Def Jam] and Ella Henderson’s “The First Time” [Syco Music].

The track also appears on the Elijah Blake’s upcoming debut album, “Shadows & Diamonds,” out on June 23 via Def Jam Recordings.

Other album collaborators include Two Inch Punch (Sam Smith, Ed Sheeran), Lyrica Anderson (Beyonce, Christina Milian), Tiyon “TC” Mack (Brandy, Tamar Braxton) and Christopher “C4” Umana (Trey Songz, Kelly Rowland).

On the songwriting front, Blake – real name Sean Fenton – has contributed to the next projects by Rihanna [Roc Nation Records], Gabi Wilson [RCA Records] and Jordin Sparks [Larger Than Life Records].

Meanwhile, fans of Happy Perez’s production work should peep the next projects by Miguel [ByStorm Entertainment / RCA Records], Tamera Foster [Syco Music] and Frank Ocean [Def Jam Recordings].

Listen to the audio clip for “Drop Dead Beautiful” below.

Miguel announces new album “Wildheart”

4 May


Miguel has announced the title for his new album.

The singer/songwriter christened his third studio collection “Wildheart” and will release it later this year under Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

Lead single “Coffee (Fucking)” – featuring Wale – is now available for download via iTunes and all other digital outlets.

“Wildheart” serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Kaleidoscope Dream,” which peaked to number three on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned hit singles including “Adorn,” “Do You…” and “How Many Drinks?”

On the songwriting front, Miguel recently co-wrote “You & I (Forever)” and “Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe” for British songstress Jessie Ware along with hit record producers Benny Blanco and Two Inch Punch.

Among the musicians backing Miguel on “Wildheart” are Happy Perez (Mariah Carey, Frank Ocean), Naughty Boy (Rihanna, Emeli Sande), Benny Cassette (Kanye West, Elle Varner) and Jason Evigan (Madonna, David Guetta).

Listen to the audio clip for “Coffee (Fucking)” below.

Elijah Blake announces new album “Shadows & Diamonds”

28 Apr



Elijah Blake has announced the details for his debut album.

The singer/songwriter christened his first studio collection “Shadows & Diamonds” and will release it on June 23 under Def Jam Recordings.

Lead single “I Just Wanna” – which was written by Blake along with Andrew Swanson, Colby Zinser, Lyrica Anderson, Floyd Bentley and Anthony William – is now available for download via iTunes and all other digital outlets.

“Shadows & Diamonds” serves as the follow-up to 2014’s EP “Drift,” which featured singles “6,” “Fallen” and “Strange Fruit.” That collection also boasted collaborations with James Poyser, Tiago Carvalho, and No I.D.

For the new album, Blake – real name Sean Fenton – has reportedly teamed with Happy Perez (Mariah Carey, Frank Ocean), Two Inch Punch (Jessie Ware, Sam Smith) and Chris Loco (Sinead Harnett, Ella Eyre).

Peep the tracklisting for “Shadows & Diamonds” below.

“Shadows & Diamonds”


“The Otherside”

“I Just Wanna…”




“Live Till We Die”

“Drop Dead Beautiful”

“All Black Everything”


“Angel Dust”

Chris Loco hints at new collaboration with Elijah Blake

13 Mar


Chris Loco has hinted at a new collaboration with Elijah Blake.

“Workin on a lil sumin sumin w the homey @SirElijahBlake this morning,” the British record producer and songwriter tweeted on Tuesday (March 10, 2015).

Loco previously worked with Rita Ora (“Shine Ya Light”), Leona Lewis (“Trouble”), Kylie Minogue (“Fine”), Raleigh Ritchie (“Stronger Than Ever”), Etta Bond (“Feels Like”) and Professor Green f/ Tori Kelly (“Lullaby”).

He also contributed to the next projects by Emeli Sande [Capitol Records], Sinead Harnett [Virgin EMI Records], Melissa Steel [Atlantic Records], Bipolar Sunshine [Polydor Records] and Becky Hill [Parlophone Records].


Meanwhile, Blake – born Sean Fenton – is scheduled to release his debut album, tentatively entitled “Songs About Melody,” later this year via Universal Music Group imprint Def Jam Recordings.

Ernest “No I.D.” Wilson serves as the executive producer for the keenly-awaited project. The legendary Hip-Hop & R&B record producer is also overseeing the careers of Snoh Aalegra [Epic Records] and Jhene Aiko [Def Jam Recordings].

Other musicians backing Blake on “Songs About Melody” are Happy Perez (Mariah Carey, Frank Ocean), Pharrell Williams (Madonna, Justin Timberlake) and Two Inch Punch (Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith).

Watch the music video for “Strange Fruit” below.

Miguel debuts three new songs online

19 Dec


Miguel has debuted three new songs online.

The singer/songwriter posted the audio clips for “nwa,” “Coffee” and “Hollywood Dreams” to his official SoundCloud page on Friday (December 19, 2014).

The artist – born Miguel Pimentel – is currently putting the final touches on his upcoming as-yet-untitled third album, out soon via RCA Records.

For the new project, the “Adorn” star teamed with Happy Perez (Babyface, Frank Ocean), Jason Evigan (David Guetta, Emeli Sande), Benny Cassette (Keri Hilson, Elle Varner) and Naughty Boy (Rihanna, Mary J. Blige).

His last studio collection, 2012’s “Kaleidoscope Dream,” peaked at number three on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles including “Do You…” and the Kendrick Lamar-assisted “How Many Drinks?”

Listen to “nwa / Hollywood Dreams / Coffee” below.

Polly A. unveils new mini-album “Distorted Fairy Tales”

11 Dec


Polly A. has unveiled her new mini-album online.

The singer/songwriter – born Meleni Smith – posted “Distorted Fairy Tales” to her official SoundCloud page on Wednesday (December 10, 2014).

“Distorted Fairy Tales” is preceded by lead single “Nature,” which was written by Meleni Smith and Frankie Storm along with Scott “ScottISHH” Carter, Dame “Haze” Hayes and Ali Prawl of production team The Matrax.

Other contributors on “Distorted Fairy Tales” are Reginald “Syience” Perry, Arturo Ayers, Julien “JDot” Cross, Danny King, and Marc Cary.

As a songwriter, Polly A. recently co-wrote “Summer Dealer” for Canadian singer/songwriter Ben Stevenson along with hit producer Happy Perez.

Her extensive resume also includes works for Kat Dahlia (“Clocks”), Angel Haze (“No Bueno”), Selena Gomez (“Bang Bang Bang”), J. Cole (“Crooked Smile”), Natasha Bedingfield (“Happy”) and Alicia Keys (“Love is My Disease”).

Peep the songwriting credits for “Distorted Fairytales” below.


Written By: (Meleni Smith / Frankie Storm / Scott “Scottishh” Carter / Dame “Haze” Hayes / Ali Prawl).

“You (Blowin’ in the Wind)

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Kat Dahlia / Danny King for ENRMS).

“Just a Man”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Arturo Ayers / Marc Cary).

“In the Name of Love”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Reginald “Syience” Perry).

“Red Balloons”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Julien “JDot” Cross).

Ella Henderson releases “Yours” music video

7 Dec


Ella Henderson has released the music video for her new single online.

The British singer/songwriter posted the James Lees-directed clip for “Yours” to her official Vevo page on Friday (December 05, 2014).

“Yours” was written by Henderson along with the song’s producer, Josh Record. It follows previous promotional cuts “Ghost” and “Glow.”

Ella’s first studio collection, “Chapter One,” debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart. It features further productions and songwriting contributions from Steve Robson, Babyface, Happy Perez, Lindy Robbins, Al Shux, and TMS.

Watch the music video for “Yours” below.