Tag Archives: J. Cole (rapper)

Polly A. announces new project “Ghetto Gold Dream”

24 Dec

Polly A

Polly A. has announced the title for her upcoming project.

The singer/songwriter – real name name Meleni Smith – christened her next collection of songs “Ghetto Gold Dreams” and will release it early next year.

“Ghetto Gold Dreams” serves as the follow-up to “Distorted Fairy Tales,” which features the Matrax-produced / Frankie Storm-assisted single “Nature.”

As a songwriter, Polly A. penned songs for Alicia Keys (“Love is My Disease”), Natasha Bedingfield (“Happy”), Selena Gomez (“Bang Bang Bang”), Angel Haze (“No Bueno”), J. Cole (“Crooked Smile”) and Kat Dahlia (“Mirror”).

Her resume also includes works with hitmakers Stargate (Rihanna, Katy Perry), Toby Gad (Madonna, John Legend), Salaam Remi (Usher, Jordin Sparks), Boi-1da (Tinashe, Kelly Rowland) and Syience (Beyonce, Emeli Sande).

Watch the music video for “Nature” below.

Polly A. unveils new mini-album “Distorted Fairy Tales”

11 Dec


Polly A. has unveiled her new mini-album online.

The singer/songwriter – born Meleni Smith – posted “Distorted Fairy Tales” to her official SoundCloud page on Wednesday (December 10, 2014).

“Distorted Fairy Tales” is preceded by lead single “Nature,” which was written by Meleni Smith and Frankie Storm along with Scott “ScottISHH” Carter, Dame “Haze” Hayes and Ali Prawl of production team The Matrax.

Other contributors on “Distorted Fairy Tales” are Reginald “Syience” Perry, Arturo Ayers, Julien “JDot” Cross, Danny King, and Marc Cary.

As a songwriter, Polly A. recently co-wrote “Summer Dealer” for Canadian singer/songwriter Ben Stevenson along with hit producer Happy Perez.

Her extensive resume also includes works for Kat Dahlia (“Clocks”), Angel Haze (“No Bueno”), Selena Gomez (“Bang Bang Bang”), J. Cole (“Crooked Smile”), Natasha Bedingfield (“Happy”) and Alicia Keys (“Love is My Disease”).

Peep the songwriting credits for “Distorted Fairytales” below.


Written By: (Meleni Smith / Frankie Storm / Scott “Scottishh” Carter / Dame “Haze” Hayes / Ali Prawl).

“You (Blowin’ in the Wind)

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Kat Dahlia / Danny King for ENRMS).

“Just a Man”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Arturo Ayers / Marc Cary).

“In the Name of Love”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Reginald “Syience” Perry).

“Red Balloons”

Written By: (Meleni Smith / Julien “JDot” Cross).

Elijah Blake teams up with J. Cole for new song ‘Vendetta’

3 Jul

Elijah Blake has debuted a new song online.

“Vendetta” – which features J. Cole – is slotted for inclusion on the singer/songwriter’s upcoming debut album, “Songs About Melody,” out soon via Universal Music Group / ARTium / Island Def Jam Recordings.

The new collection is executively produced by legendary hip hop musician Ernest “No I.D.” Wilson, whose credits include “Daughters” by Nas [Def Jam Recordings], “My Other Gun” by Ne-Yo [Compound Entertainment / Motown Records] and “No Love Allowed” by Rihanna [Island Def Jam Records].

In addition to “Vendetta,” other tracks slotted for inclusion on “Songs About Melody” are “X.O.X. (featuring Common),” “Drop Dead Beautiful” and “Come Away (featuring Big Sean).”

Album contributors include Ronald “Young Yonny” Ferebee Jr. (Trey Songz, Christina Milian), Nathan “Happy” Perez (Frank Ocean, Miguel Pimentel), Salaam Remi (Usher Raymond, Jazmine Sullivan), Pharrell Williams (Kelly Rowland, Justin Timberlake), Warren “Oak” Felder (Sterling Simms, Marsha Ambrosius) and Andrew “Pop” Wansel (Chris Brown, Sevyn Streeter).