Tag Archives: Janelle Monae

Tayla Parx teases new collaboration with Janelle Monae

17 May

Tayla Parx has teased a new collaboration with Janelle Monae.

“I was finishing up Janelle Monae album in ATL and Big Boi walks in like ..you tryna do a freestyle like that on my record? Love the south,” the American singer/songwriter tweeted on Tuesday (May 16, 2017).

Parx (real name Taylor Parks) is responsible for co-writing Mariah Carey’s “Infinity,” Alicia Keys’ “In Common,” Jojo’s “Fuck Apologies,” Jason Derulo’s “Love Me Down,” Meghan Trainor’s “Better,” Fifth Harmony’s “Bo$$,” Jennifer Lopez’s “So Good,” and Keyshia Cole’s “Rick James.”

Her extensive resume delivers additional works with producers KAYTRANADA, Eric Hudson, Illangelo, Tommy Brown, Dem Jointz, Noel Zancanella, T-Collar, Ian Kirkpatrick, Electric, Ricky Reed, TMS, Emanuel Kiriakou, Andrew Goldstein, The Stereotypes, Rodney Jerkins, Greg Wells, Antonio Dixon, The Rascals, Mitch Allan, Nick Monson, and Daniel “Daylight” Kyriakides.

Meanwhile, Monae is expected to release her fourth studio collection, which serves as the follow-up 2013’s “The Electric Lady,” later this year Wondaland Records in partnership with Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records.

The still-untitled project reportedly boasts further collaborations Jonny Lattimer (Kwabs, Ellie Goulding), Ina Wroldsen (Britney Spears, Rag’n’Bone Man), Adriano Buffone (Avicii, JP Cooper), Janee “Jin Jin” Bennett (RAYE, Clean Bandit) and Fred Cox (Tanika Bailey, Jamie Lidell).

Fans of Parx’s songwriting works, on the other hand, should keep an eye on the next projects by Cassie, Ariana Grande, Christina Aguilera, Demi Lovato, Kesha, Fleur East, Mollie King, Stanaj, Diana Gordon, Alina Baraz, Majid Jordan, Hailee Steinfeld, Skip Marley, Tori Kelly, and Cameron Dallas.

Stream “The Electric Lady” below.

Ina Wroldsen hints at new collaboration with Janelle Monae

25 Feb


Janelle Monae has recorded new material with Ina Wroldsen.

“Just spent two days with the queen @JanelleMonae. Thanks for the privilege,” Wroldsen posted to her Instagram page on Tuesday (February 23, 2015).

It is yet to be known whether the session was intended for another artist or Monae’s upcoming third studio album.

Wroldsen recently co-wrote “Bind Your Love” and “Sirens” for British singer/songwriter Cher Lloyd. Both tracks appear on the artist’s sophomore album “Sorry I’m Late,” now available for download via Epic Records.

Her extensive resume also includes works for Shakira (“Empire”), Britney Spears (“He About to Lose Me”), Shontelle (“Impossible”), Madison Beer (“Melodies”), Leona Lewis (“My Hands”) and James Arthur (“Recovery”).

Meanwhile, Monae is scheduled to release her mini-album “The Eephus” later this year via Wondaland Art Society / Bad Boy Records.

Monae’s last album, 2013’s “The Electric Lady,” peaked to number five on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned four hit singles in the shape of “Q.U.E.E.N.,” “Dance Apocalyptic,” “PrimeTime” and “Electric Lady.”

Watch the music video for Janelle Monae’s “Q.U.E.E.N.” below.

Chris Loco hints at new collaboration with Kwabs

19 Dec


Chris Loco has hinted at a new collaboration with Kwabs.

The British hitmaker – born Christopher Crowhurst – previously co-wrote and produced “Into You” for Kwabs. The track appears on the artist’s EP “Pray for Love,” now available for download via iTunes.

Some of his other notable credits are “Feels Like” by Etta Bond [Disturbing London], “Easier in Bed” by Emeli Sande [Capitol Records] and “Lullaby” by Professor Green featuring Tori Kelly [Virgin Records].

Loco also contributed to the next projects by Raleigh Ritchie [Columbia Records], Laura Welsh [Polydor Records], Becky Hill [Parlophone Records], Melissa Steel [Atlantic Records] and Ella Eyre [Virgin EMI Records].

Meanwhile, Kwabs is currently recording his upcoming debut album under Atlantic Records. The Warner Music Group imprint also represents artists including Bruno Mars, Janelle Monae, Trey Songz, and Charli XCX.

For the still-untitled LP, Kwabs reportedly teamed with TMS (Olly Murs, Leona Lewis), Al Shux (Alicia Keys, Elle Varner), Fraser T. Smith (Javeon, Bipolar Sunshine) and MNEK (Madonna, Kylie Minogue).

Watch the music video for “Walk” below.

Kelly Rowland releases lyric video for new single “The Game”

12 Aug

kELLY rOWLAND - Talk a Good Game

Kelly Rowland has released the lyric video for her new single online.

The R&B singer/songwriter posted the visual clip to her official YouTube page on Tuesday (August 12, 2014).

“The Game” – written by Sia Furler along with Kirby Lauryen and Jake Troth – is lifted from the compilation album, “Pepsi Beats of the Beautiful Game.”

Other artists who contributed to the “Pepsi Beats” album are Santigold [Atlantic Records], Jetta [Polydor Records] and Janelle Monae [Atlantic Records].

Watch the lyric video for “The Game” below.

Miguel writes new material with Happy Perez

1 Feb


Miguel has recently teamed up with super producer Happy Perez.

It is yet to be known whether their collaborative efforts will appear on the R&B crooner’s upcoming third album, which serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Kaleidoscope Dream” [Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records].

The pair previously teamed up on songs including “Sure Thing,” “My Peace” and “Don’t Look Back.” They are also responsible for co-writing and producing Mariah Carey’s hit single “#Beautiful” [Island Def Jam Recordings].

Some of the “Adorn” singer’s other notable songwriting contributions include “Rocket” by Beyoncé Knowles [Columbia Records] and “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” by John Legend [G.O.O.D. Music].

Meanwhile, recent production credits by Happy Perez include “Pay My Bills” by K. Michelle [Atlantic Records], “Pink Fields” by Neon Hitch [Warner Bros. Records] and “We All Try” by Frank Ocean [Def Jam Recordings].

Watch the music video for Janelle Monae’s latest single “PrimeTime” – which features vocals from Miguel – below.