Tag Archives: Johnta Austin

Mariah Carey hits the studio with Prince Charlez, No ID for new collaboration

5 Aug

Mariah Carey has enlisted Prince Charlez and No I.D. for a new collaboration.

Charlez is responsible for co-writing Zedd & Liam Payne’s “Get Low,” Rihanna’s “Needed Me,” Mary J. Blige’s “U + Me (Love Lesson),” K. Michelle’s “Talk to God,” Ella Mai’s “Who Knew,” and Tey Songz’s “Song Goes Off.”

Meanwhile, No I.D.’s production resume boasts works with Kanye West (“Bound 2”), Jhene Aiko (“To Love and Die”), Big Sean (“Control”), Melanie Fiona (“This Time”), Jay-Z (“Holy Grail”) and Drake (“Find Your Love”).

As mentioned in earlier posts, Carey is expected to release the follow-up to 2014’s “Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse” later this year via Butterfly MC Records in partnership with Epic Records.

The still-untitled project reportedly delivers further productions and songwriting contributions from Jermaine Dupri, Bryan Michael Cox, Johnta Austin, Crystal Nicole, Eric Hudson, Priscilla Renea, and Diane Warren.

Watch the music video for “#Beautiful” below.

[Musicians’ Galore] Johnta Austin

8 Dec


Johnta Austin is an American singer-songwriter, arranger and rapper, who is signed to Jermaine Dupri’s So So Def Recordings.

He is responsible for co-writing singles including “We Belong Together” (Mariah Carey), “Just Be a Man About It” (Toni Braxton), “Miss You” (Aaliyah), “Be Without You” (Mary J. Blige), “Call on Me” (Janet Jackson), “A Public Affair” (Jessica Simpson), “Hood Boy” (Fantasia Barrino), “Rock With You” (Ledisi), “This Time” (Melanie Fiona) and “Fight for Love” (Elliot Yamin).

His extensive resume boasts further works with Whitney Houston (“Worth It”), Beyonce (“Roc”), Faith Evans (“Tru Love”), Enrique Iglesias (“Lost Inside Your Love”), Leona Lewis (“Angel”), LeToya Luckett (“This Song”), Jennifer Hudson (“My Love”), Christina Milian (“Addicted”), Trey Songz (“You Just Need Me”), Bryson Tiller (“Don’t”) and Leah LaBelle (“What Do We Have to Lose”).

Amongst the producers Austin regularly collaborated with are Bryan Michael Cox, Jermaine Dupri, Teddy Bishop, Jazze Pha, Polow Da Don, Eric Hudson, Troy Taylor, Walter Millsap, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, and Stargate (Tor Erik Hermansen & Mikkel Storleer Eriksen).

He also teamed up with fellow musicians including Espionage (Espen Lind & Amund Bjorklund), Dallas Austin, Amanda Ghost, Swizz Beatz, JMike, Kane Beatz, Jerry Duplessis, Arden Altino, Rich Harrison, Andre Harris, Vidal Davis, Rodney Jerkins, Luke Laird, Sam Watters, Louis Biancaniello, Greg Kurstin, D’Mile, Warren “Oak” Felder, Andrew “Pop” Wansel, and Steve Mostyn.

Hope you enjoy the following playlist dedicated to Austin’s work!

Usher confirms details for new album “Hard II Love”

25 Aug


Usher has confirmed the details for his upcoming album.

The singer, songwriter, and actor christened his eighth studio collection “Hard II Love” and will release it on September 16 via RCA Records.

Amongst the tracks slotted for inclusion on the follow-up to 2012’s “Looking for Myself” are “Crash,” “No Limit,” “Missin U” and “Champions.”

Brandon “B.A.M.” Hodge, Rock City, WondaGurl, and Carlos St. John are amongst the confirmed collaborators on “Hard II Love.”

The keenly-awaited project reportedly delivers additional alliances with Paul Epworth, Johnta Austin, Dapo Tormiro, Bryan Michael Cox, Priscilla Renea, Jermaine Dupri, Labrinth, Polow Da Don, and Knox Brown.

Watch the music video for “No Limit” below.

Monica christens “Alone in Your Heart” as new single

16 Jan


Monica has announced the details for her new single.

The singer-songwriter christened “Alone in Your Heart” as the second promotional cut from her latest album, “Code Red,” now available for download via iTunes in partnership with RCA Records.

“Alone in Your Heart” was co-written by Andrea Simms, who also teamed up with the song’s producers Warren “Oak” Felder and Andrew “Pop” Wansel on Kandace Springs’ “West Coast” and Chris Brown’s “Bassline.”

Commercial performance-wise, “Code Red” – featuring the Lil Wayne-assisted lead single “Just Right for Me” – peaked to number four on the US Billboard US Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart.

The follow-up to 2012’s “New Life” boasts further collaborations with Timbaland (Aaliyah), Kirby Lauryen (Beyonce), Polow Da Don (Tamia), Crystal Nicole (Rihanna), Danja (Usher), and Johnta Austin (Ciara).

Listen to the audio clip for “Alone in Your Heart” below.

Monica teams up with Akon for new song “Hustler’s Ambition”

26 Nov


Monica has debuted a new song online.

The singer/songwriter posted the audio clip for “Hustler’s Ambition” – featuring Akon – to her Vevo channel on Wednesday (November 25, 2015).

Production duties on “Hustler’s Ambition” were handled by DJ Dahi, whose other credits include Madonna’s “Beautiful Scars” [Interscope], Tinashe’s “Bet’ [RCA] and Kelela’s “All the Way Down” [Cherry Coffee].

As mentioned in earlier posts, Monica is scheduled to release her eighth studio collection “Code Red” on December 18 through RCA Records.

Lead single “Just Right for Me” – now available for download via iTunes – was co-written by Jocelyn “Jo’zzy” Donald (Zendaya, Chris Brown) and produced by Polow Da Don (Tamia, Jamie Foxx).

Other album contributors include Timbaland (Aaliyah), Johnta Austin (Ciara), Bryan Michael Cox (Faith Evans), Jermaine Dupri (Alicia Keys), Tami LaTrell (Keyshia Cole), Danja (K. Michelle) and Keri Hilson (Mary J. Blige).

Listen to the audio clip for “Hustler’s Ambition” below.

Monica reveals new album “Code Red” tracklisting

20 Nov

Monica - Code Red

Monica has revealed the tracklisting for her upcoming eighth album.

“Code Red” – featuring lead single “Just Right for Me” – is scheduled to hit stores on December 18 through RCA Records.

The highly-anticipated LP serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “New Life,” which debuted at number four on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart.

Among the musicians backing Monica on “Code Red” are Polow Da Don (Usher), Tami LaTrell (Keyshia Cole), Jermaine Dupri (Ciara), Johnta Austin (Chris Brown), Bryan Michael Cox (Alicia Keys) and Timbaland (Beyonce).

Peep the tracklisting for “Code Red” below.

(01) Code Red / (02) Just Right For Me / (03) Love Just Ain’t Enough / (04) Call My Name / (05) I Know / (06) All Men Lie / (07) Deep / (08) Hustler’s Ambition / (09) Alone In Your Heart / (10) Suga / (11) Ocean of Tears / (12) Saints & Sinners / (13) I Miss Music / (14) Anchor

Monica unleashes new single “Just Right for Me” music video

7 Nov

Monica - Just Right for Me

Monica has unleashed the music video for her new single online.

“Just Right for Me” – featuring Lil Wayne – has been posted to the singer/songwriter’s Vevo channel on Thursday (November 05, 2015).

The track – now available for download via iTunes and all other digital outlets – was co-written by Jocelyn “Jo’zzy” Donald (Zendaya, Chris Brown) and produced by Polow Da Don (Keyshia Cole, Jamie Foxx).

As mentioned in earlier posts, Monica’s next studio collection “Code Red” is scheduled for release on December 18 through RCA Records.

The follow-up to 2012’s “New Life” delivers additional alliances with Dallas Austin (Madonna), Timbaland (Beyonce), Jermaine Dupri (Alicia Keys), Bryan Michael Cox (Toni Braxton), Johnta Austin (Aaliyah) and Danja (Usher).

Watch “Just Right for Me” below.