Tag Archives: Max Martin (musician)

Usher reunites with Jermaine Dupri, Bryan Michael Cox, Johnta Austin for new album

19 May


Usher has teamed up with Jermaine Dupri, Bryan Michael Cox, and Johnta Austin for his upcoming eighth studio album.

“Late night grind with Jermaine Dupri and Bryan Michael Cox, working on joints for Usher. The grind never stops,” Austin posted to his Instagram account.

The songwriting and production trio are responsible for Mariah Carey’s “We Belong Together” [Def Jam], Tamia’s “Still” [Elektra], Janet Jackson’s “Nothing” [A&M] and Leah LaBelle’s “What Do We Got to Lose” [Epic].

Dupri and Cox are also behind Usher’s international hit singles “Burn” and “Confessions (Part II),” taken from his fourth album “Confessions.”

Austin, on the other hand, is the pen behind Melanie Fiona’s “This Time” [Republic], Jordin Sparks’ “Just for the Record” [Jive], Leona Lewis’ “Angel” [Syco Music] and Enrique Iglesias’ “On Top of You” [Interscope].

As mentioned in earlier posts, Usher’s eighth album will hit stores and digital outlets later this year under Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The keenly-awaited CD reportedly boasts further alliances with Dapo Tormiro (Toni Braxton, Ella Henderson), Priscilla Renea (Beyonce, Alicia Keys), Max Martin (Kelis, Britney Spears) and Bebe Rexha (Tinashe, David Guetta).

Watch the music video for “Good Kisser” below.

Taylor Swift premieres “Bad Blood” music video

18 May

Taylor Swift - Bad Blood

Taylor Swift has premiered the music video for her new single online.

The singer and songwriter posted the visual clip for “Bad Blood” – featuring Kendrick Lamar – to her Vevo channel on Sunday (May 17, 2015).

“Bad Blood” was written by Swift along with regular collaborators Max Martin (Dido, Kelly Clarkson) and Shellback (Maroon 5, Adam Lambert).

Video treatment was handled by Joseph Khan, whose other credits include Britney Spears’ “Perfume” [RCA], Shakira’s “Can’t Remember to Forget You” [Sony Music Latin] and Mariah Carey’s “#Beautiful” [Def Jam].

Swift’s latest album “1989” – featuring previous promotional cuts “Style,” “Blank Space” and “Shake it Off” – is now available for download via iTunes in partnership with Big Machine Records.

Watch the music video for “Bad Blood” below.

Tori Kelly confirms new single “Should’ve Been Us”

12 May

Tori Kelly - Should've Been Us

Tori Kelly has announced the details for her new single.

The singer/songwriter christened “Should’ve Been Us” as the second promotional single from her upcoming debut album “Unbreakable Smile.”

“Should’ve Been Us” – now available for download via iTunes – was written by Kelly along with  Ludvig Söderberg, Jakob Jerlström, Oscar Holter, Laleh Pourkarim, Alexander Kronlund, and James Alan.

As mentioned in earlier posts, “Unbreakable Smile” – featuring hit single “Nobody Love” – will hit stores on June 23 via Capitol Records.

Album producers are Max Martin (Kelis, Avril Lavigne), Toby Gad (Beyonce, Alicia Keys), Ilya KnocDown (Prince Royce, Ellie Goulding), Chuck Harmony (Tamia, Janet Jackson) and Malay (Frank Ocean, John Legend).

On the songwriting front, Kelly has teamed up with Claude Kelly (Brandy, Jordin Sparks), Jenna Andrews (Pixie Lott, Jessie J), Ed Sheeran (Rudimental, Jessie Ware) and Savan Kotecha (Usher, Christina Aguilera).

Listen to the audio clip for “Should’ve Been Us” below.