Tag Archives: Melvin Hough

Ester Dean releases new project “Well My Name is Susie”

5 Sep

American singer/songwriter Ester Dean has released her new project online.

“Well My Name Is Susie” – featuring 8 new songs including “Nana,” “Dis Old Man,” “Slip N Slide,” “What You Call It,” “Melanin” and  “Now or Never” – is now available via Apple Music and all digital streaming outlets.

The collection was prominently produced by Melvin Hough and Rivelino Wouter of Mel & Mus, who are also responsible for Nicki Minaj’s “Barbie Dreams,” Chris Brown’s “Don’t Think They Know,” Tamar Braxton’s “Angels & Demons,” Keyshia Cole’s “Get It Right,” and Rihanna’s “Raining Men.”

As a songwriter, Dean is known for co-penning Beyonce’s “Countdown,” Katy Perry’s “Firework,” Britney Spears’ “Selfish,” Christina Aguilera’s “Not Myself Tonight,” Kelly Clarkson’s “Mr. Know It All,” Nicole Scherzinger’s “Right There,” Keri Hilson’s “Lose Control” and Selena Gomez’s “Come & Get It.”

Stream “Well My Name is Susie” below.


Dinah Jane releases self-titled bundle of three new singles

19 Apr

Dinah Jane has released a self-titled bundle of three new songs online.

“Dinah Jane 1” – featuring “Heard It All Before” (co-written by Micah Powell and produced by Jonathan “J.R.” Rotem), “Pass Me By” (co-written by Jocelyn Donald and produced by Mel & Mus) and “Fix It” (co-written by Hayley Gene Penner and produced by Theron “Neff-U” Feemster) – is now available via iTunes and all other digital streaming outlets.

Besides signing a solo record deal with L.A. Reid’s HITCO and releasing her debut single “Bottled Up” (featuring Marc E. Bassy and Ty Dolla Sign) in 2018, Jane has also recorded new music producers Electric, Amy Allen, Rob Knox, Jenna Andrews, Danja, Olivia Waithe, Jussifer, Victoria Monet, Oak Felder, Delacey, Sam Fischer, and Priscilla Renea.

Stream “Heard It All Before,” “Pass My By” and “Fix It” below.

Kyla delivers new promotional single “Eyes”

10 Nov

British singer/songwriter Kyla Reid, professionally known as Kyla, has delivered her new promotional single online.

“Eyes” is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The track was co-written by Jeremiah “SickPen” Bethea,  who previously worked with Claudette Ortiz (“Automatic”), K. Michelle (“Talk to God”), Mario (“Let Me Help You”), LeToya Luckett (“Disconnected”) and Toni Braxton (“Missin”).

Production duties on “Eyes” were handled by Mel & Mus, who are also responsible for Nicki Minaj’s “Barbie Dreams,” Chris Brown’s “Don’t Think They Know,” Tamar Braxton’s “Angels & Demons,” Rihanna’s “Raining Men,” Keyshia Cole’s “Get it Right,” and Justin Bieber’s “Runaway Love.”

As mentioned in earlier posts, Kyla’s upcoming project – featuring the Andrea Martin-penned/Ill Blu-produced single “You Ain’t Mine” – is scheduled to arrive via Universal Music Group / Virgin EMI Records.

The still-untitled collection reportedly boasts further contributions from Rude Kid, Kelly Kiara, Moon Willis, Jenna Andrews, Needlz, Hannah Yadi, Invisible Men, Alicia Renae, Sacha Skarbek, Lindy Robbins, and Banx & Ranx.

Stream the audio clip for “Eyes” below.

Mick Schultz teases new collaboration with Kelly Rowland

28 Mar

Mick Schultz has teased a new collaboration with Kelly Rowland.

“Recording something special with @kellyrowland,” the American record producer and songwriter tweeted on Monday (March 27, 2017).

Schultz’s production and songwriting credits include Jeremih’s “Birthday Sex,” Zendaya’a “Replay,” SoMo’s “Show Off,” Jessie James’ “Psycho Girlfriend,” Jenna Andrews’ “Oil & Water,” and Rihanna’s “Desperado.”

His extensive resume boasts further works with artists/fellow musicians Maejor, Tiffany Fred, Paul “Phamous” Shelton, Lights, James Fauntleroy, Chloe Angelides, Iain James, Stephenie Jones, Claude Kelly, Liza Owen, Jesse St. John, Pia Mia, Stanaj, Rook Monroe, Georgia Ku, Derrus Rachel, and Euanitta.

Meanwhile, Rowland is expected to release her upcoming fifth album, which serves as the follow-up to 2013’s “Talk a Good Game,” later this year.

Other producers expected to appear on the still-untitled project are Tricky Stewart (Nicole Scherzinger), The-Dream (Celine Dion), Shama “Sak Pase” Joseph (Jennifer Lopez), Dem Jointz (Brandy), Maejor (Justin Bieber), Shea Taylor (Ne-Yo) and Mel & Mus (Keyshia Cole).

On the songwriting front, Rowland has reportedly teamed up with Diane Warren (Whitney Houston), Angie Beyince (Destiny’s Child), Traci Hale (Britney Spears), Shane Stevens (Ariana Grande), Nash Overstreet (Meghan Trainor), Verse Simmonds (Chris Brown) and Rock City (Keri Hilson).

Watch the music video for “Kisses Down Low” below.

Tamar Braxton unveils “Angels and Demons” music video

18 Sep


Tamar Braxton has unveiled the music video for her new single online.

The singer/songwriter posted the Darren Craig-directed clip for “Angels and Demons” to her Vevo channel on Thursday (September 17, 2015).

Production duties on “Angels and Demons” were handled Mel & Mus, who are also responsible for Chris Brown’s “Don’t Think They Know” [RCA], Rihanna’s “Raining Men” [Def Jam] and Justin Bieber’s “Runaway Love” [Island].

Braxton’s next studio collection “Calling All Lovers” – featuring previous singles “Let Me Know,” “If I Don’t Have You” and “Catfish” – is scheduled to hit stores on October 2 through Streamline Records and Epic Records.

The keenly-awaited LP delivers additional productions from Marcos Palacios and Ernest Clark of Da Internz (Tinashe), Harmony Samuels (Ne-Yo), Polow Da Don (Kelly Rowland) and Darhyl “DJ” Camper (John Legend).

Watch the music video for “Angels and Demons” below.

Chris Brown to release new album ‘X’ in November

1 Oct


Chris Brown has announced the new release date for his upcoming album.

The singer/songwriter will release “X” in the United States on November 19 via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The set will be preceded by the Kendrick Lamar-assisted “Autumn Leaves,” co-written by Eric Bellinger (Usher, Christina Milian) and produced by Brandon Alexander Hodge (RaVaughn, Marsha Ambrosius).

Other artists confirmed on “X” are Nicki Minaj [Young Money Records], Kelly Rowland [Republic Records], Wiz Khalifa [Atlantic Records], Brandy [RCA Records] and Rihanna [Island Def Jam Recordings].

Production work on the follow-up to 2012’s “Fortune” is handled by Timothy “Timbaland” Mosley (Beyonce, Justin Timberlake), Nathaniel “Danja” Hills (Jamie Foxx, Britney Spears), Thomas “Diplo” Pentz (Katy Perry, Sia Furler), Christopher “Drumma Boy” Gholson (Angie Stone, Musiq Soulchild).

Watch the video for previous single “Don’t Think They Know (featuring Aaliyah)” below. The track was helmed by Melvin Hough and Rivelino Wouter of songwriting and production duo Mel & Mus.

Chris Brown, Nicki Minaj debut new single ‘Love More’

22 Jul

Chris Brown has debuted his new single online.

“Love More” – which features Nicki Minaj – marks the third promotional single from the singer/songwriter’s upcoming sixth album, “X,” scheduled for release later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

The track serves as the follow-up to previous single “Don’t Think They Know,” which features vocals from the late Aaliyah and a sample from Job B’s hit single “They Don’t Know” (produced by the legendary Tim & Bob).

Meanwhile, “X” is confirmed to yield productions from Mel & Mus: Melvin Hough & Rivelino Wouter (Keyshia Cole, Jamie Foxx), Leon “RoccStar” Youngblood (Beyonce, Jennifer Hudson), Nathaniel “Danja” Hills (Ciara, Justin Timberlake) and Thomas “Diplo” Pentz (Bruno Mars, Wynter Gordon).