Tag Archives: Sony Masterworks

Liam Bailey inks new deal with Salaam Remi’s Buddha Records

6 Mar

Liam Bailey

British singer/songwriter Liam Bailey has signed a new deal with Buddha Records and will release his debut album later this year.

The Sony Masterworks imprint is headed by legendary producer Salaam Remi, whose extensive resume includes works for Alicia Keys [RCA Records], Leona Lewis [Syco Music] and Nelly Furtado [Interscope Records].

Some of his recent credits include “Own It” by Mack Wilds [Larger Than Life Records], “Make Love to Me” by Luke James [Mercury Records] and “New Tattoo” by James Arthur [Simco Limited / Syco Music].

Meanwhile, Bailey recently teamed up with dub producer Shy FX on hit single “Soon Come.” The track peaked at number six on the UK Indie Chart and received praise from David Rodigan, Zane Lowe, and Annie Mac.

He also co-wrote and performed on the 2011 top 5 single “Blind Faith” by Chase & Status. The track appears on the electronic duo’s album, “No More Idols.”

Watch the music video for “Please Love Me” below.

Salaam Remi debuts new collaboration with Corinne Bailey Rae

17 Sep

Salaam Remi has debuted a new song online.

The super producer uploaded “Makin’ It Hard for Me” – which features Corinne Bailey Rae – to his official SoundCloud page on Tuesday (September 17, 2013).

The track will be included on Remi’s upcoming album, “One: In the Chamber,” out soon via Sony Masterworks / Sony Music Entertainment.

Other artists confirmed on the album are Estelle [New London Records], Akon [Republic Records] and Ne-Yo [Compound Entertainment / Motown Records].

Remi also contributed to the next projects by Ella Henderson [Syco Music], Jordin Sparks [RCA Records], Stacy Barthe [Motown Records], James Arthur [Syco Music], Kat Dahlia [Epic Records] and Jennifer Hudson [RCA Records].

Meanwhile, Bailey Rae is currently recording her third studio album – which serves as the follow-up to 2010’s “The Sea” – along with Chuck Harmony (Rihanna, Toni Braxton) and Greg Wells (Paloma Faith, Mayer Hawthorne).

Salaam Remi, Akon unleash new single ‘One in the Chamber’

16 Sep


Salaam Remi has debuted his new single online.

The super producer posted “One in the Chamber” to his official SoundCloud page on Monday (September 16, 2013).

The track – which features Akon – marks the first promotional single from Remi’s upcoming studio album, “One: In the Chamber,” out on September 30 via Sony Masterworks / Sony Music Entertainment.

Other contributors on the album include Estelle [New London Records], Ne-Yo [Motown Records] and Corinne Bailey Rae [Capitol Records].

On the production front, Remi has confirmed placements on the next projects by Mack Wilds [Re Mi Fa Music], Jennifer Hudson [RCA Records], Ella Henderson [Syco Music] and Kat Dahlia [Epic Records].

DJ Fresh, Diplo, Dominique Young premiere music video for new single ‘Earthquake’

24 Jul

DJ Fresh has premiered the music video for his new single online.

“Earthquake” – which features producer Diplo and singer Dominique Young – is taken from the motion picture soundtrack, “Kick-Ass 2,” which is due on August 20 via Sony Music Entertainment / Sony Masteworks.

The hitmaker – real name Daniel Stein – has previously collaborated with the likes of Girls Aloud [Polydor Records], Rita Ora [Columbia Records], Ms. Dynamite [Relentless Records], The Saturdays [Polydor Records], RaVaughn Brown [Columbia Records] and Ellie Goulding [Polydor Records].

He is currently working on his upcoming as-yet-untitled studio album on Columbia Records. The new collection serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Next Levelism.” That release debuted at number fourteen on the UK Albums Chart.

Jessie J unveils music video for new single ‘Silver Lining (Crazy ‘Bout You)’

21 Nov

Jessie J has unveiled the music video for her new single online.

“Silver Lining (Crazy ‘Bout You)” is taken from the motion picture soundtrack “Silver Linings Playbook,” which is out now via Sony Masterworks.

The track was written by Diane Warren, whose credits include “Spanish Guitar” by Toni Braxton [Sony Music Entertainment / LaFace Records], “I Learned from the Best” by Whitney Houston [Sony Music Entertainment / Arista Records] and “After Tonight” by Mariah Carey [Sony Music Entertainment / Columbia Records].

Production credits were handled by Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins, who is also responsible for “As Long As You Love Me” by Justin Bieber featuring Big Sean [Universal Music Group / Island Def Jam Recordings], “Shake You Up” by Leona Lewis [Simco Limited / Sony Music Entertainment] and “Work It Man” by Kelly Rowland [Universal Music Group / Republic Records].

Jessie J – real name Jessica Cornish – is currently recording the follow-up to 2011’s “Who You Are,” which debuted at number two on the UK Albums Chart and delivered seven hit singles – “Do It Like a Dude,” “Price Tag,” “Nobody’s Perfect,” “Who’s Laughing Now,” “Who You Are,” “Domino” and “Laserlight.”