Tag Archives: SZA

SZA teams up with The Neptunes for new single “Hit Different”

4 Sep

American singer/songwriter Solana Rowe, professionally known as SZA, has delivered her new single online.

“Hit Different” – which was produced by Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo of The Neptunes and features guest vocals from Ty Dolla $ign – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Spotify, Tidal, Google Music and all other digital streaming platforms.

SZA’s upcoming sophomore album – which reportedly features additional contributions from Timbaland, Sia, Jack Antonoff, Brockhampton, and Sam Smith – is expected to arrive later this year via Top Dawg Entertainment / RCA Records.

Stream the audio clip for “Hit Different” below.

SZA collaborates with DJ Dahi for new promotional single “Quicksand”

8 Sep

American singer/songwriter Solána Imani Rowe, better known by her stage name SZA, has unveiled her new promotional single online.

“Quicksand” – which appears on the original motion soundtrack for Issa Rae’s hit TV series “Insecure: Season 2” – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

Production duties on “Quicksand” were handled by DJ Dahi (born Dacoury Natche), who is also responsible for Drake’s “Worst Behavior,” Jazmine Sullivan’s “Brand New,” Madonna’s “Beautiful Scars,” Big Sean’s “I Don’t Fuck with You,” Tinashe’s “Bet,” and Kelela’s “All the Way Down.”

Meanwhile, SZA recently provided guest vocals on Maroon 5’s latest single “What Lovers Do.” The track was co-written with Adam Levine, Dayo Olatunji, Elina Stridh, Brittany “Starrah” Hazzard, Victor Radstrom, Jason Evigan, and Benjamin “Ben Billions” Diehl.

Her debut studio collection “Ctrl,” which was released earlier this year via Top Dog Entertainment in partnership Sony Music’s RCA Records, peaked to number three on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles including “Drew Barrymore” and “Love Galore.”

Stream the audio clip for “Quicksand” below.

Maroon 5 confirm new promotional single details

29 Aug

American pop rock band Maroon 5 have teamed up with R&B singer/songwriter SZA for their new promotional single “What Lovers Do,” which will arrive on September 1st via iTunes and all other digital streaming platforms.

The track was co-written by Brittany “Starrah” Hazzard, whose recent credits include Era Istrefi’s “No I Love Yous,” Calvin Harris’ “Feels,” Nicki Minaj’s “Regret in Your Tears,” DJ Khalid’s “Don’t Quit,” Katy Perry’s “Swish Swish,” 2 Chainz’s “Realize,” Kid Ink’s “No Strings,” and Halsey’s “Now or Never.”

Production duties on “What Lovers Do,” on the other hand, were collectively handled by regular collaborator Jason Evigan (Macklemore, Rita Ora) and Ben Billion$ (The Weeknd, Kelly Rowland).

Maroon 5’s upcoming sixth studio collection – featuring previous singles “Don’t Wanna Know” and “Cold” – will arrive later this year via 222 Records in partnership with Interscope Records.

The still-untitled project serves as the follow-up to 2014’s “V,” which debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned singles including “Maps,” “Animal” and “Sugar.”

Watch the music video for “Don’t Wanna Know” below.

Rihanna releases new album “Anti”

28 Jan


Rihanna has released her eighth album online.

“Anti” – featuring appearances from Drake and SZA – is now streaming exclusively on Tidal for one week, and a deluxe version of the album with three bonus tracks will be made available on January 29th.

Lead single “Work” was co-written by Jahron “PartyNextDoor” Brathwaite and produced by Matthew “Boi-1da” Samuels, Allen Ritter, and Sevn Thomas.

Other songwriters backing Rihanna on the follow-up to 2012’s “Unapologetic” are James Fauntleroy (Leona Lewis), Bibi Bourelly (Usher), Jean Baptiste Kouame (Madonna), The-Dream (Santigold), and The Weeknd (Ariana Grande).

On the production front, “Anti” boasts contributions from Shea Taylor (Sia), Jeff Bhasker (Beyonce), Mick Schultz (Zendaya), Hit-Boy (Brandy), DJ Mustard (Tinashe), Fred Ball (Jessie Ware), and Brian Kennedy (Fantasia).

Peep the tracklisting for “Anti” below.

(1) Consideration / (2) James Joint / (3) Kiss it Better / (4) Work / (5) Desperado / (6) Woo / (7) Needed Me / (8) Yeah, I Said It / (9) Same Ol’ Mistakes / (10) Never Ending / (11) Love on the Brain / (12) Higher / (13) Close to You