Tag Archives: Universal Music Group

Arlissa signs new record deal with Def Jam Recordings

15 Jul

American-German singer/songwriter Arlissa has signed a new record deal with Def Jam Recordings, which is also home to artists including Justin Bieber, Teyana Taylor, Kanye West, Jhene Aiko, Big Sean, and Alessia Cara.

Arlissa’s current promotional single “Hearts Ain’t Gonna Lie” – which was remixed by Jonas Blue and co-written by fellow recording artist Senai Tedros – is now available via iTunes and all other digital streaming outlets.

For her upcoming project, Arlissa has reportedly teamed up with Lostboy, Pip Kembo, Martin Sjolie, Patrick Patrikious, Anita Blay, Jonny Hockings, Martin Terefe, Bastian Langebaek, Malay, Ari PenSmith, Shea Taylor, and Fred Ball.

Arlissa also co-wrote “Just Us” for Kara Marni alongside Jonathan Clare and James Tadgell of UK songwriting/production duo All About She. The track is slotted for inclusion on Marni’s next project under Access Records.

Watch the music video for “Hearts Ain’t Gonna Lie” below.

Becky Hill hits the studio with Rachel Furner, The 23rd

14 Jul

British singer/songwriter Becky Hill has teamed up with Rachel Furner and The 23rd for her upcoming debut album under Eko Music / Polydor Records.

Furner’s recent songwriting credits include Alice Chater’s “Heartbreak Hotel,” Kara Marni’s “All or Nothing,” Craig David’s “Love Me Like It’s Yesterday,” The Vamps’ “Personal,” and Catherine McGrath’s “Talk of This Town.”

Meanwhile, The 23rd (composed of siblings George and Henry Flint) are responsible for co-writing and producing singles including Grace Carter’s “Silence,” James TW’s “Say Love,” and Sigrid’s “Plot Twist.”

Hill’s next promotional single “I Could Get Used to This” – which she co-wrote alongside Mike Kintish – is scheduled to arrive later this year.

Her current single “Sunrise in the East” – which was co-written by Maverick Sabre and Peter “Lostboy” Rycroft and collectively produced by ADP and Hit Impulse – is now available via all digital streaming outlets.

Watch the music video for “Sunrise in the East” below.

Mary J. Blige reunites with Prince Charlez, Pop & Oak for new single “Only Love”

13 Jul

Mary J. Blige has released her new single online.

“Only Love” is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The track was co-written by Prince Charlez, who previously teamed up with Blige on singles “Love Yourself,” “Set Me Free” and “U + Me (Love Lesson),” taken from the 2017 album, “Strength of a Woman.”

Production duties on “Only Love” were handled by Pop & Oak, who also worked with Blige on “Wonderful” and “Kiss and Make Up,” taken from the original motion picture soundtrack, “Think Like a Man Too.”

Blige’s upcoming fourteenth album – featuring further contributions from Moses Samuels and Mikey Akinkunmi of Sons of Sonix – is expected to arrive later this year via Republic Records.

Stream the audio clip for “Only Love” below.

Jess Kent announces new singles “Bass Bumps,” “No Love Songs”

11 Jul

Jess Kent has announced the details for her new singles.

The Australian singer/songwriter christened “Bass Bumps” and “No Love Songs” as the her next promotional cuts and will release them on July 13 via iTunes, Apple Music, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

“Bass Bumps” was co-written by Kennedi Lykken, Justin Tranter, Nick Monson, Mark Nilan and Paul “DJ White Shadow” Blair, meanwhile “No Love Songs” was co-written by Brittany Burton, Michael Pollack and Jorgen Odegard.

Kent’s upcoming project – featuring further contributions from Billy Steinberg, Negin Djafari, Jussifer, Chelsea Lena, Sad Pony, Justin Raisen, Skyler Stonestreet, Trey Campbell, Ido Zmishlany, Sarah Hudson, and Patrick Patrikious – is expected to arrive later this year via Capitol Records.

Watch the music video for “Trolls” below.

Years & Years unleash sophomore album “Palo Santo”

6 Jul

British synthpop band Years & Years – composed of members Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, and Emre Türkmen – have released their sophomore studio collection online.

“Palo Santo” – featuring singles “Sanctify” and “If You’re Over Me” – is now available via iTunes and all other digital streaming outlets.

On the follow-up to 2015’s “Communion,” Years & Years have reunited with producers Mark Ralph, Greg Kurstin, Kid Harpoon, and Two Inch Punch.

Other album contributors are Grades, Julia Michaels, Justin Tranter, Sarah Hudson, Alex Hope, Jesse Shatkin, Steve Mac, and Clarence Coffee Jr.

Stream “Palo Santo” below.

Raye delivers new promotional single “Friends”

6 Jul

British singer/songwriter Rachel Keen, known mononymously as Raye, has delivered her new promotional single online.

“Friends” – which was co-written by Janee “Jin Jin” Bennett alongside Nate Campany, Kyle Shearer, Fred Gibson, and Mark Ralph – is now available via iTunes and all other digital streaming outlets.

As mentioned in earlier posts, Raye’s upcoming project is expected to arrive later this year via Universal Music Group / Polydor Records.

As a songwriter, Raye has penned songs for Hailee Steinfeld (“Capital Letters”), Madison Beer (“Home With You”), John Legend (“A Good Night”), Rita Ora (“Proud”), Justine Skye (“Don’t Think About It”) and Little Mix (“If I Get My Way”).

Stream the audio clip for “Friends” below.

Mabel McVey hits the studio with Cass Lowe

5 Jul

Mabel McVey has teamed up with Cass Lowe for a new collaboration.

The British record producer and songwriter’s recent credits include DNCE’s “TV in the Morning,” Lily Allen’s “Pushing Up Daisies,” MØ’s “Nostalgia,” Paloma Faith’s “Kings and Queens,” and Rudimental’s “Sun Comes Up.”

Fans of his works should also keep an eye on the next releases by Astrid S, Zara Larsson, Nick Jonas, Ray BLK, Stanaj, Alex Aiono, Dagny, Ella Henderson, Goody Grace, Jess Glynne, Stormzy, and Clean Bandit.

Meanwhile, Mabel is expected to release her next project – featuring current single “Fine Line” – later this year via Polydor Records.

The still-untitled collection reportedly yields additional contributions from Electric, Fraser T. Smith, MNEK, Bless Beats, Corey Sanders, Jonny Coffer, Tre Jean-Marie, Lostboy, Jordan Riley, Dan Caplen, and TMS.

Watch the music video for “Ring Ring” below.