Tag Archives: Usher

Adam Lambert signs new deal with Warner Bros. Records

18 Jan


Singer/songwriter Adam Lambert has signed a new record deal with Warner Bros. Records and will release his third album later this year.

The Warner Music Group imprint is also home to artists including Cher, Bette Midler, Eric Clapton, Flaming Lips, Green Day, Josh Groban, Lily Allen, Michael Buble, Regina Spektor, Bebe Rexha, and Nico & Vinz.

Production on Lambert’s new album is headed by hitmakers Max Martin and Shellback, who previously teamed with Lambert on singles “If I Had You” and the Pink-assisted “Whataya Want from Me.”

The Swedish songwriting and production duo have also worked with Taylor Swift (“Blank Space”), Ariana Grande (“Problem”), Christina Aguilera (“Your Body”), Usher (“Scream”) and Britney Spears (“I Wanna Go”).

Lambert’s last studio collection, 2012’s “Trespassing,” debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned promotional cuts “Better Than I Know My Self” and “Never Close Our Eyes.”

Watch the music video for “Whataya Want from Me” below.

Ciara unleases new single “I Bet”

14 Jan

Ciara - I Bet

Ciara has unleashed her new single online.

The singer/songwriter posted the audio clip for “I Bet” to her official Vevo page on Tuesday (January 13, 2015).

“I Bet” was co-written by siblings Theron and Royce Thomas of Rock City, who previously teamed with the artist on “I’m Out” and “Keep On Looking.”

The duo are also co-responsible for Becky G’s “Shower” [Kemosabe Records], Keyshia Cole “New Nu” [Interscope Records], Rihanna’s “Man Down” [Def Jam Recordings] and Usher’s “I Don’t Mind” [RCA Records].

Production duties on “I Bet” were handled by Harmony “H-Money” Samuels, whose other credits include Tamar Braxton’s “Let Me Know” [Epic Records] and Jasmine V’s “That’s Me Right There” [Interscope Records].

He also confirmed placements on the next projects by Melissa Steel [Atlantic Records], Gabi Wilson [RCA Records], Pia Mia [Interscope Records], LeToya Luckett [Entertainment One Music Group] and Jojo [Atlantic Records].

Ciara’s upcoming sixth studio collection, “Jackie,” is due later this year via Sony Music Entertainment / Epic Records.

The keenly-awaited project follows 2013’s “Ciara,” which peaked at number two on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart and spawned hit single “Body Party.”

Other musicians backing the “Body Party” star on the new album are Dr. Luke, Henry “Cirkut” Walter, Jamal “Polow Da Don” Jones, Mike Will Made It, Kenneth “Soundz” Coby and Diane Warren.

Listen to “I Bet” below.

Max Martin, Savan Kotecha grace debut album by Tori Kelly

31 Dec


Tori Kelly has teamed with Savan Kotecha and Max Martin for her debut album.

The songwriting and production duo are responsible Jessie J’s “Bang Bang” with Ariana Grande & Nicki Minaj [Republic Records], Jennifer Lopez’s “First Love” [Capitol Records] and Christina Aguilera’s “Your Body” [RCA Records].

Martin and Kotecha also worked with Britney Spears (“I Wanna Go”), Justin Bieber (“Beauty and a Beat”), Usher (“Scream”), Leona Lewis (“Out of My Head”), Cher Lloyd (“With Ur Love”) and Cassadee Pope (“Easier to Lie”).

As mentioned in previous posts, Kelly will release her highly-anticipated debut album in early 2015 via Universal Music Group / Capitol Records.

The still-untitled project is executive-produced by Scooter Braun, who’s also overseeing the careers of Ariana Grande [Republic Records], Carly Rae Jepsen [Interscope Records] and Madison Beer [Island Records].

Other album contributors include Rodney Jerkins (Brandy, Toni Braxton), Fraser T. Smith (Adele, CeeLo Green), Oren Yoel (Miley Cyrus, Stacy Barthe), Ed Sheeran (Jessie Ware, Hilary Duff) and Pharrell (Beyonce, Gwen Stefani).

In related news, Kelly recently provided guest vocals for Professor Green’s hit single “Lullaby” [Virgin EMI Records]. The Ina Wroldsen-assisted / Chris Loco-produced track peaked at number four on the UK Singles Chart.

Watch an acoustic performance for “Funny” below. The song was written by Tori Kelly along with Claude Kelly and Chuck Harmony.

Bonnie McKee unveils “California Winter” music video, hints new Taio Cruz collaboration

21 Dec


Bonnie McKee has unveiled a new music video online.

The singer/songwriter posted the festive visual clip for “California Winter” to her official Vevo page on Saturday (December 20, 2014).

McKee also hinted at a new collaboration with Taio Cruz.

She previously co-wrote “Dynamite” for Cruz along with Max Martin, Lukasz “Dr. Luke” Gottwald and Benjamin “Benny Blanco” Levin. The track peaked at number two on the US Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart.

Her extensive resume boasts further works for Britney Spears (“Hold it Against Me”), Carly Rae Jepsen (“Turn Me Up”), Nicole Scherzinger (“Tomorrow Never Dies”), Leona Lewis (“Unlove Me”) and Ellie Goulding (“Under Control”).

Meanwhile, Cruz is currently recording his upcoming fourth studio album. The still-untitled project serves as the follow-up to 2011’s “TY.O,” which spawned singles including “Hangover,” “Troublemaker” and “Fast Car.”

His songwriting skills can be heard on David Guetta’s “Without You” featuring Usher [Capitol Records], Cheryl Cole’s “Mechanics of the Heart” [Polydor Records] and Jennifer Lopez’s “I’m Into You” [Def Jam Recordings].

Watch the music video for “California Winter” below.

Chris Brown announces new album “X” release date

3 Aug


Chris Brown has announced the release date for his upcoming studio album.

The singer/songwriter’s sixth studio collection, “X,” will hit stores and digital outlets on September 16 via Sony Music Entertainment / RCA Records.

Current single “New Flame” – featuring Usher & Rick Ross – is now available for download via iTunes and all other digital outlets. The track was co-written by Verse Simmonds and produced by Count Justice.

“X” serves as the follow-up to 2012’s “Fortune,” which debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 Albums Chart.

Among the musicians backing Brown on the highly-anticipated LP are RoccStar, Sevyn Streeter, Darhyl Camper, Eric Bellinger, and Diplo.

Listen to “New Flame” below.

Jojo works with Andrew “Pop” Wansel for new album

30 Jul


Jojo has collaborated with Andrew “Pop” Wansel for her upcoming third album.

Recent songwriting and production credits by Wansel include Usher’s “Good Kisser,” Marsha Ambrosius’ “You & I” and Gabi Wilson’s “Something to Prove.”

He also contributed to the next projects by Elle Varner [RCA Records], Ariana Grande [Republic Records], Ella Henderson [Syco Music], Sevyn Streeter [Atlantic Records] and Kandace Springs [Blue Note / Capitol Records].

Meanwhile, the new LP by Jojo is expected to be released later this year via Atlantic Records. It serves as the follow-up to 2006’s “The High Road,” which debuted at number two on the US Albums Chart.

The highly-anticipated project is said to boast further productions and songwriting contributions from Da Internz, Marsha Ambrosius, Harmony “H-Money” Samuels, Diane Warren, and Ruth-Anne Cunningham.

Listen to the Noah “40” Shebib-produced “Demonstrate” below.

RoccStar unveils artwork for debut album “Rokit Science”

12 Jul

Rockit Science

RoccStar has unveiled the official artwork for his upcoming debut album.

The singer, songwriter, rapper and record producer – born Leon Youngblood, Jr. – christened his debut album “Rokit Science” and will release it later this year.

In case you didn’t know, RoccStar is known for co-writing and producing Chris Brown’s “Fine China” [RCA Records], Jennifer Lopez’s “Acting Like That” [Capitol Records] and K Koke’s “Lay Down Your Weapons” [RCA Records].

His resume also includes works for Usher [RCA Records], Beyoncé [Columbia Records], CeeLo Green [Atlantic Records], Prince Royce [Sony Music Latin], Jennifer Hudson [RCA Records] and Sevyn Streeter [Atlantic Records].

Watch the music video for “Confidence” below.