Tag Archives: Zak Abel

Paloma Faith unwraps artwork, tracklisting for new album “The Architect”

22 Sep

Paloma Faith has unwrapped the artwork and tracklisting for her upcoming fourth album “The Architect,” which will arrive on November 17 via Sony Music Entertainment UK / RCA Records Label.

Lead single “Crybaby” – which was co-written with Lindy Robbins, Cleo Tighe, and Finlay “Starsmith” Dow-Smith – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The follow-up to 2014’s “A Perfect Contradiction” boasts additional songwriting alliances with fellow recording artists including Sia Furler (“Warrior”), Zak Abel (“I’ll Be Gentle”) and John Newman (“Till I’m Done”).

Other album contributors are Jesse Shatkin (Rihanna), Ilsey Juber (Britney Spears), Cass Lowe (Sam Smith), Knox Brown (Jess Glynne), Eg White (Maverick Sabre), Arnthor Birgisson (Raye), Carla Marie Williams (Beyonce), Wayne Hector (Olly Murs), Klas Ahlund (Robyn) and TMS (Craig David).

See the tracklisting for “The Architect” below.

(1) Evolution / (2) The Architect / (3) Guilty / (4) Crybaby / (5) I’ll Be Gentle (featuring John Legend) / (6) Politics of Hope / (7) Kings and Queens / (8) Surrender / (9) Warrior / (10) ‘Til I’m Done / (11) Lost and Lonely / (12) Still Around / (13) Pawns / (14) WW3 / (15) Love Me As I Am / (16) Power to the Peaceful / (17) Tonight’s Not the Only Night / (18) My Body / (19) Price of Fame

Zak Abel enlists Fred Ball for new collaboration

20 Sep

Zak Abel has enlisted Fred Ball for a new collaboration.

The Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum selling record producer and songwriter is known for his works with Toni Braxton (“Deadwood”), Rihanna (“Love on the Brain”), Zara Larsson (“One Mississipi”), Nina Nesbitt (“Take You to Heaven”), Astrid S (“Does She Know”) and Una Sands (“Seventeen”).

Ball’s resume boasts additional alliances with songwriters including Shaznay Lewis, Evan “Kidd” Bogart, Roses Gabor, Andrew Jackson, Natalia Hajjara, Arrow Benjamin, Bibi Bourelly, Iain James, Ruth-Anne Cunningham, Joseph Angel, Livvi Franc, Sam Dew, Nina Woodford-Wells, and Ed Drewett.

Meanwhile, Abel is scheduled to release his debut album “Only When We’re Naked” on October 6th via Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records UK.

Among the musicians backing Abel on the album are Fred Cox (Dan Caplen), Amy Wadge (Ed Sheeran), Sky Adams (Kylie Minogue), Danny Shah (Imani Williams), Ed Thomas (Jorja Smith), Guy Chambers (Robbie Williams), Jonny Lattimer (Kwabs) and Francis “Eg” White (Sam Smith).

As a songwriter, Abel (born Zak David Zilesnick) co-wrote “I’ll Be Gentle” for Paloma Faith’s upcoming fourth album “The Architect” alongside Peter “Merf” Kelleher, Benjamin Kohn, and Thomas “Froe” Barnes of UK production team TMS (also known by their stage name Ghosted).

Stream the audio clip for “Only When We’re Naked” below.

Zak Abel drafts Wretch 32 for new single “Rock Bottom”

10 Feb


Zak Abel has delivered his new single online.

“Rock Bottom” – featuring Wretch 32 – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

The track was co-written by Zak Abel alongside J Warner (Sasha Keable, Tinie Tempah) and Jonny Lattimer (Anne-Marie, Ellie Goulding).

Production duties on “Rock Bottom” were handled by Fred Cox, whose other credits include Rag’n’Bone Man’s “Grace,” Lion Babe’s “Impossible,” James Morrison’s “Stay Like This,” Tanika’s “Fuck Boy,” and Billie Marten’s “Bird.”

Cox also contributed to the next projects by James Blunt [Atlantic], RAYE [Polydor], Janelle Monae [Wondaland / Epic], Anne-Marie [Asylum / Major Tom’s Music] and DAKOTA [70Hz / Virgin EMI].

As mentioned in earlier posts, Abel’s debut album “Only When We’re Naked” – featuring the Amy Wadge-assisted “Broken” and Francis “Eg” White-produced “Deserve To Be Loved” – will arrive on March 3 via Atlantic Records.

On the songwriting front, Abel co-wrote “I’ll Be Gentle” for Paloma Faith’s upcoming fourth album alongside the song’s producers Thomas “Froe” Barnes, Benjamin Kohn and Peter Kelleher of TMS.

Listen to the audio clip for “Rock Bottom” below.

Zak Abel confirms details for debut album

2 Nov


Zak Abel has confirmed the details for his debut album.

The British singer-songwriter – real name Zakhel Abel Hlungwane – christened his first studio collection “Only When We’re Naked” and will release it on February 3, 2017 via Atlantic Records.

Lead single “Unstable” – which was written Abel alongside Lawrie Martin, Danny Shaw and Sky Adams – is now available via iTunes, Apple Music, Amazon, Google Play, Tidal and all other digital streaming platforms.

Peep the tracklisting for “Only When We’re Naked” below.

(1) Unstable / (2)Still Want UUU / (3) Broken / (4) The River / (5) Winging It / (6) Only When We’re Naked / (7) Awakening / (8) Deserve to Be Loved / (9) Hero / (10) One More

Zak Abel announces new single “Everybody Needs Love”

29 Mar


Zak Abel has announced the title of his new single.

The British singer-songwriter christened “Everybody Needs Love” as the first promotional cut from his upcoming debut album under Atlantic Records.

“Everybody Needs Love” – available for download from April 1st via iTunes – was co-written by Ed Thomas (Sinead Harnett, Karen Harding) and Stuart Zender (Jamiroquai, All Saints).

Other musicians backing Abel on his still-untitled debut album are Lucas Secon (Jordin Sparks, Olly Murs), Thomas Jules (Rudimental, Anne-Marie) and Francis “Eg” White (Adele, Sam Smith).

Listen to the audio clip for “Say Sumthin” below.

Lucas Secon hints at new collaboration with Zak Abel, Thomas Jules

9 Feb


Lucas Secon has hinted at a new collaboration with Zak Abel and Thomas Jules.

“@ZakAbel @ThomasJules81 great record today,” the Danish record producer and songwriter tweeted on Monday (February 08, 2016).

Jules is a singer-songwriter signed to BMG Chrysalis and the lead touring vocalist for Rudimental. Moreover, he co-penned Rudimental’s “Love Ain’t Just a Word” [Asylum] and Anne-Marie’s “Do It Right” [Atlantic].

Meanwhile, Secon is responsible for co-writing / producing songs with Blonde (“All Cried Out”), Cheryl (“Goodbye Means Hello”), Kylie Minogue (“Get Outta My Way”), Olly Murs (“Cry Your Heart Out”), and Cody Simpson (“No Ceiling”).

Abel, on the other hand, will release his first studio collection – featuring the Eg White-assisted “Deserve to Be Loved” – later this year through Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records.

The still-untitled project serves as the follow-up to 2015’s EP “ One Hand on the Future,” which delivered the Kaytranada-produced “Say Sumthin.”

Watch the music video for “Wise Enough” below.

Zak Abel teams up with Francis “Eg” White for new single “Deserve To Be Loved”

10 Nov


Zak Abel has debuted his new single online.

The visual clip for “Deserve To Be Loved” was posted to the singer/songwriter’s YouTube channel on Tuesday (November 10, 2015).

“Deserve To Be Loved” marks the first promotional cut from Abel’s upcoming debut album under Warner Music Group / Atlantic Records.

It was also co-written by Francis “Eg” White, whose notable credits include Leona Lewis (“I Am”), Kwabs (“Fight for Love”), James Morrison (“Stay Like This”), CeeLo Green (“Purple Hearts”) and Sam Smith (“Good Thing”).

Meanwhile, Abel’s current mini-collection “One Hand on the Future” – featuring lead single “Say Sumthin” – is now available for download via iTunes.

Watch the music video for “Deserve to Be Loved” below.